Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690590
visibleTabCount: 5
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, and archival materials, relating to the theory and practice of material culture particularly as it relates to the early period of American history from the 17th to the 19th centuries.
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Databases
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
America: History and Life
Includes abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
Finding Databases
Journals
Pioneer America Society. (1984). Material Culture.
Journal of Material Culture. (1996).
Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Design, Culture. (2011). West 86th: A Journal of Decorative Arts, Design History, and Material Culture.
National Museum of Science Technology. (1991). Material History Review = Revue D'histoire De La Culture Matérielle.
Journal of Material Culture. (1996).
Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Design, Culture. (2011). West 86th: A Journal of Decorative Arts, Design History, and Material Culture.
National Museum of Science Technology. (1991). Material History Review = Revue D'histoire De La Culture Matérielle.
Historical and Contemporary Newspapers
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodical Collection
Include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
American Periodicals Series
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
Artemis: Primary Sources
Include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
American Periodicals Series
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900).
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all Gale primary source collections and newspapers.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Ebooks
Bleichmar, D., & Mancall, P. (2011). Collecting Across Cultures: Material Exchanges in the Early Modern Atlantic World (The Early Modern Americas). Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press.
Saunders, P., Ogundiran, A., & Ebooks Corporation. (2014). Materialities of Ritual in the Black Atlantic (Blacks in the diaspora). Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press.
Shrum, R., & ProQuest. (2017). In the Looking Glass: Mirrors and Identity in Early America. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
Skeehan, D., & ProQuest. (2020). The Fabric of Empire: Material and Literary Cultures of the Global Atlantic (Studies in early American economy and society from the Library Company of Philadelphia). Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
Swann, M. (2010). Curiosities and Texts: The Culture of Collecting in Early Modern England (Material Texts). Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press.
Symonds, J. (2010). Table Settings the Material Culture and Social Context of Dining, AD 1700-1900. Oxford; Oakville, Conn.: Oxbow Books.
Williams, S. (2013). Alice Morse Earle and the Domestic History of Early America (Public History in Historical Perspective). Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press.
DuPlessis, R., & Cambridge University Press. (2016). The Material Atlantic: Clothing the New World, 1650-1800. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
Saunders, P., Ogundiran, A., & Ebooks Corporation. (2014). Materialities of Ritual in the Black Atlantic (Blacks in the diaspora). Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press.
Shrum, R., & ProQuest. (2017). In the Looking Glass: Mirrors and Identity in Early America. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
Skeehan, D., & ProQuest. (2020). The Fabric of Empire: Material and Literary Cultures of the Global Atlantic (Studies in early American economy and society from the Library Company of Philadelphia). Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.
Swann, M. (2010). Curiosities and Texts: The Culture of Collecting in Early Modern England (Material Texts). Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press.
Symonds, J. (2010). Table Settings the Material Culture and Social Context of Dining, AD 1700-1900. Oxford; Oakville, Conn.: Oxbow Books.
Williams, S. (2013). Alice Morse Earle and the Domestic History of Early America (Public History in Historical Perspective). Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press.
DuPlessis, R., & Cambridge University Press. (2016). The Material Atlantic: Clothing the New World, 1650-1800. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
Select Print Books
uSearch
Primary Sources
American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
| 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
|
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian