University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

MSC 310 Living Resources of the Ocean

Table of Contents






Creative Commons Licenses

Selected Databases

  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
    ASFA is the most comprehensive database covering research and technical literature in aquatic sciences. Subfiles include Environmental RouteNet and Water Resource RouteNet.
  • Aquaculture Compendium
    A global compilation of knowledge on aquaculture for practical decision-making in aquatic resource management and aquaculture.
  • Biological Science (ProQuest)
    This service indexes theoretical and applied research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and related resources in the biological sciences. MEDLINE and TOXLINE are included in the search.
  • Biosis Citation Index
    Get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. Biosis Citation Index combines critical life sciences research with powerful citation indexing that only Web of Science provides.
  • BioOne
    Provides access to full-text of research journals in the biosciences published by scientific societies such as the Wilson Ornithological Society, Society of Wetland Scientists, and Entomological Society of America.
  • Gale OneFile: Science
    Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
  • Oceanic Abstracts
    Oceanic Abstracts indexes journal articles and other international technical publications pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. Index coverage focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
  • PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
    Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
  • SCOPUS
    Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
  • Web of Science Citation Indexes
    Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
For more related resources visit the University of Miami Libraries Database Lists.

Selected Journals

Find additional journals in the UM Libraries uSearch Catalog.

Find items in the uSearch Catalog

Theses and Dissertations

Encyclopedias

Selected eBooks

Evolutionary ecology of marine invertebrate larvae
Carrier, T. J. et al
Economic Management of Marine Living Resources: a practical solution
Whitmarsh, David
Who rules the waves? Piracy, overfishing and mining the oceans
Russell, Denise
Ecosystem approaches to fisheries: a global perspective
Christensen, Villy
Habitats and Biota of the Gulf of Mexico: Before the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill
Ward, C. Herb
Vulnerability of coastal ecosystems and adaptation
Monaco, André, editor
The curious life of krill: a conservation story from the bottom of the world
Nicol, Stephen

Evaluating Sources by Western University Libraries

McMaster Libraries YouTube video:  How to Evaluate Resources (the CRAAP Test)

For more information and background on The CRAAP test for evaluating resource, visit CRAAP test - Wikipedia.
Librarians recommend that students use library resources, databases, and ejournals when searching for information.  However, many student will use Google to search for information on their topics.  While some of the resources found through a Google search may be credible and peer reviewed, some information can less so, out of date, and inaccurate.  When evaulating the information you find online use the "CRAAP" test!

Currency
Relevance
Authority
Accuracy
Purpose

 

Subject Specialist

  • Angela Clark-Hughes

    Director, Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science Library

    aclark@earth.miami.edu

Marine & Atmospheric Science Guides

Getting Stated with Managing your Citations

There are many citation mangement programs available (also known as reference managers or bibliographic management tools) providing useful features that can help you with storing and organzing your citations, as well as creating a bibliography in whatever style you prefer.

It is important to choose the one that suits your needs.  University of Miami Libraries has licensed access to: Mendeley, RefWorks and EndNote.

Resource Guides

Mendeley

Additional video tutorial at: https://www.mendeley.com/guides/videos

RefWorks

EndNote X9