Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690683
visibleTabCount: 8
What is Mindfulness?
Mindfulness is the practice of maintaining a moment-by-moment awareness of our thoughts, feelings, bodily sensations, and surrounding environment. To be mindful is to be aware and awake to the present moment, not overly reactive or overwhelmed by what's going on around us
Life can be overwhelming. Mindfulness practices can provide great tools to help you learn to accept, manage, and respond, rather than react, to negative emotions. Mindfulness will not get rid of our negative emotions, instead it calls us to pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them—without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment. Mindfulness teaches that our emotions can be useful, not overwhelming or destructive.
Although it has varied religious roots (most notably arising out of Buddhist tradition), a secular mindfulness practice has recently entered the Western mainstream, thanks in part to the work of Jon Kabat-Zinn and his Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) program, which he founded in 1979 at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. Since then, mindfulness research has expanded greatly, with thousands of studies documenting the physical and mental health benefits of mindfulness and MBSR practices.
On this guide you'll find materials and resources that can be used as a jumping off point for further mindfulness research
Blog – RAIN: A Practice of Radical Compassion By: Tara Brach
Meditation: A Practice of RAIN (20:00 min.) By: Tara Brach
Further Reading
Mindfulness Defined By The Greater Good Science Center
What is MIndfulness? By Mindful.org
Mindfulness and Mental Health By Sona Dimidjian
Strengthening Attention By Amishi P. Jha
Dharma for Times of Global Trauma By Tara Brach
What is MIndfulness? By Mindful.org
Mindfulness and Mental Health By Sona Dimidjian
Strengthening Attention By Amishi P. Jha
Dharma for Times of Global Trauma By Tara Brach
Welcome to the Mindfulness Resources Guide!
“When we are mindful, deeply in touch with the present moment, our understanding of what is going on deepens, and we begin to be filled with acceptance, joy, peace and love.”
– Thich Nhat Hanh
– Thich Nhat Hanh
What is Mindfulness?
Life can be overwhelming. Mindfulness practices can provide great tools to help you learn to accept, manage, and respond, rather than react, to negative emotions. Mindfulness will not get rid of our negative emotions, instead it calls us to pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them—without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment. Mindfulness teaches that our emotions can be useful, not overwhelming or destructive.
Although it has varied religious roots (most notably arising out of Buddhist tradition), a secular mindfulness practice has recently entered the Western mainstream, thanks in part to the work of Jon Kabat-Zinn and his Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) program, which he founded in 1979 at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. Since then, mindfulness research has expanded greatly, with thousands of studies documenting the physical and mental health benefits of mindfulness and MBSR practices.
On this guide you'll find materials and resources that can be used as a jumping off point for further mindfulness research
What is Mindfulness? - Jon Kabat-Zinn
How Mindfulness Can Help You to Live in the Present
Mindfulness Meditations, Practices and Exercises
When it comes to mindfulness, there isn't much we need to get started. Mindfulness practices are available to us at any moment, whether through meditations, body scans, breathing exercises or additional mindful activities. Mindfulness is a natural quality that we all possess, and with practice, grow more capable of exercising.
When we practice mindfulness, we practice the art of slowing down and making space for ourselves to think and react in ways that serve our present moment. Mindfulness can be cultivated through formal meditation, but this is not the only or even the most beneficial way to practice. As Jon Kabat-Zinn emphasized, "It's not really about sitting in the full lotus, [pretending you’re a statue] in a British museum, it's about living your life as if it really mattered, moment by moment by moment by moment."
Here are a few examples of what a mindful meditation practice could look like for you:
When we practice mindfulness, we practice the art of slowing down and making space for ourselves to think and react in ways that serve our present moment. Mindfulness can be cultivated through formal meditation, but this is not the only or even the most beneficial way to practice. As Jon Kabat-Zinn emphasized, "It's not really about sitting in the full lotus, [pretending you’re a statue] in a British museum, it's about living your life as if it really mattered, moment by moment by moment by moment."
Here are a few examples of what a mindful meditation practice could look like for you:
10 Types of Meditation and How to Do Them Source: psychcentral.com
The Power of Mindfulness: What You Practice Grows Stronger
S.T.O.P
Stop what you are doing; put thngs down for a minute
Take a few deep breaths.
Observe your experience just as it is. Notice your thoughts, emtions and body.
Proceed with something that will support you in the moment: talk to a friend, have a cup of tea, do some stretches
The S.T.O.P. Practice: Creating Space Around Automatic Reactions By: Rhonda Magee
Take a few deep breaths.
Observe your experience just as it is. Notice your thoughts, emtions and body.
Proceed with something that will support you in the moment: talk to a friend, have a cup of tea, do some stretches
The S.T.O.P. Practice: Creating Space Around Automatic Reactions By: Rhonda Magee
R.A.I.N
Recognize what is happening;
Allow the experience to be there, just as it is;
Investigate with interest and care;
Nurture with self-compassion.
Blog – RAIN: A Practice of Radical Compassion By: Tara Brach
Meditation: A Practice of RAIN (20:00 min.) By: Tara Brach
Body Scan Meditation
How to Do a Body Scan Meditation (and Why You Should) Source: Healthline.com
Beginner’s Body Scan Meditation By: Elaine Smookler
Body Scan Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
The Body Scan (10 Minutes) Source: Dr. Elisha Goldstein
Beginner’s Body Scan Meditation By: Elaine Smookler
Body Scan Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
The Body Scan (10 Minutes) Source: Dr. Elisha Goldstein
Mindful Walking
A mindful walking practice gives us the opportunity to bring our full awarness to an everyday activity and guide ourselves out of the distracted autopilot we live in throughout much of our day.
6 Ways to Enjoy Mindful Walking By Christopher Willard
Walking Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
Thich Nhat Hanh on Walking Meditation Source: lionsroar.com
6 Ways to Enjoy Mindful Walking By Christopher Willard
Walking Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
Thich Nhat Hanh on Walking Meditation Source: lionsroar.com
Mindfulness Journaling
How to Start a Mindful Journaling Practice By Amber Tucker
35 Mindfulness Journal Prompts for Students and Adults By Sarah Kristenson
10 Mindfulness Journal Prompts to Boost Self-Awarenes Source: mindfulnessexercises.com
35 Mindfulness Journal Prompts for Students and Adults By Sarah Kristenson
10 Mindfulness Journal Prompts to Boost Self-Awarenes Source: mindfulnessexercises.com
Mindful Breathing
5 Mindfulness Breathing Exercises You Can Do Anywhere, Anytime By: Maggie Seaver
Guided Breathing Practices
Mindful Breathing Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
Mindful Breathing: Progressive Muscle Relaxation Source: American Lung Association
5 Minute Breathing Exercise Source: MindfulPeace
Box Breathing: Practice Breathwork for Focus and Anxiety Source: Headspace
Guided Breathing Practices
Mindful Breathing Meditation Source: Greater Good in Action
Mindful Breathing: Progressive Muscle Relaxation Source: American Lung Association
5 Minute Breathing Exercise Source: MindfulPeace
Box Breathing: Practice Breathwork for Focus and Anxiety Source: Headspace
Guided Meditations
Free Guided Meditations
From UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center
Guided Meditations
From international meditation teacher, Tara Brach
Free Guided Meditaion Practices
From UC Berkley's Greater Good Science Center
Free Guided Practices
From Dr. Kristin Neff's Self-Compassion Guided Practices and Exercises
From UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center
Guided Meditations
From international meditation teacher, Tara Brach
Free Guided Meditaion Practices
From UC Berkley's Greater Good Science Center
Free Guided Practices
From Dr. Kristin Neff's Self-Compassion Guided Practices and Exercises
10-Minute Meditation For Stress
10 Minute Mindfulness Guided Meditation
Morning Guided Meditation
Meditation to Calm TEST ANXIETY | 10 Minute Daily Routines
Mindfulness Bell | Guided Meditation
Table of Contents
Mindfulness Book Resources
Mindfulness: General
20040101
Mindfulness & the Brain
Mindfulness & Coping Skills
Mindfulness for the Next Generation
20191001
Mindfulness & Meditation
2021-09-15
Mindfulness & Self-Compassion
2019-11-05
20211102
Mindfulness & Teaching and Learning
2021-09-15
Databases
- PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles. - Springer Link
A digital library of full-text engineering, economics, and science journals, and selected book series, Springer Link provides access to millions of scientific documents. - Web of Science Citation Indexes
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items. - EBSCOHost
The EBSCOHost service provides gateway access to a number of searchable databases including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, SPORTDiscus, The Serials Directory, NTIS, and Professional Development Collection. - ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
Journals
UMindfulness Publications
The Science of Mindfulness by Mindful.org
When science meets mindfulness – the Harvard Gazette (first of two parts)
With mindfulness, life’s in the moment – the Harvard Gazette (second of two parts)
The Science of Mindfulness by Mindful.org
When science meets mindfulness – the Harvard Gazette (first of two parts)
With mindfulness, life’s in the moment – the Harvard Gazette (second of two parts)
Search for Articles
Peer Reviewed Articles
Williams, J. M. G., & Kabat-Zinn, J. (2011). Mindfulness: diverse perspectives on its meaning, origins, and multiple applications at the intersection of science and dharma. Contemporary Buddhism, 12(1), 1–18.
Whitfield, Tim, et al. (2022). The Effect of Mindfulness-based Programs on Cognitive Function in Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Neuropsychology Review, 32(3), 677–702. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11065-021-09519-y
Garmaise-Yee, J. & LeBlanc, R. (2022). Reducing Stress and Increasing Mindfulness in Nursing Students: An Online Mindfulness Intervention Study. Nursing Education Perspectives, 43 (6), 375-377
Bamber, M.D., & Morpeth, E. (2019). Effects of Mindfulness Meditation on College Student Anxiety: a Meta-Analysis. Mindfulness, 10(2), 203–214.
Kabat-Zinn, J. (2003). Mindfulness-based interventions in context: Past, present, and future. Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice, 10(2), 144–156
Goldberg, Tucker, et al. (2018). Mindfulness-based interventions for psychiatric disorders: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Clinical Psychology Review, 59, 52–60.
Goyal, Singh, S., et al. (2014). Meditation Programs for Psychological Stress and Well-being: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. JAMA Internal Medicine, 174(3), 357–368. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamainternmed.2013.13018
Whitfield, Tim, et al. (2022). The Effect of Mindfulness-based Programs on Cognitive Function in Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Neuropsychology Review, 32(3), 677–702. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11065-021-09519-y
Garmaise-Yee, J. & LeBlanc, R. (2022). Reducing Stress and Increasing Mindfulness in Nursing Students: An Online Mindfulness Intervention Study. Nursing Education Perspectives, 43 (6), 375-377
Bamber, M.D., & Morpeth, E. (2019). Effects of Mindfulness Meditation on College Student Anxiety: a Meta-Analysis. Mindfulness, 10(2), 203–214.
Kabat-Zinn, J. (2003). Mindfulness-based interventions in context: Past, present, and future. Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice, 10(2), 144–156
Goldberg, Tucker, et al. (2018). Mindfulness-based interventions for psychiatric disorders: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Clinical Psychology Review, 59, 52–60.
Goyal, Singh, S., et al. (2014). Meditation Programs for Psychological Stress and Well-being: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. JAMA Internal Medicine, 174(3), 357–368. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamainternmed.2013.13018
Podcasts
Wake Me Up – “Wake Me Up is a one-of-a-kind podcast that uses mindfulness, meditation, and motivation to start your day on a positive note. It's the ultimate morning routine podcast. Change your life by changing how you start the day.”
Untangle – “Untangle, is the podcast from the 5-star app, Meditation Studio and Muse, the Brain Sensing Headband. Experts and ‘real people’ share stories about how mindfulness practices have changed their lives. Hear experiences from business leaders, psychologists, neuroscientists, nutritionists, authors, mindfulness teachers, storytellers and more.”
On Being with Krista Tippett – “Groundbreaking Peabody Award-winning show about the big questions of meaning — spiritual inquiry, science, social healing, and the arts. This mindfulness podcast talks about some of the most animating questions at the core of our lives, such as what it means to be human and how people really want to live their lives. These questions are explored in a rich and complex manner and applied to our 21st-century lives.”
Mindfulness Meditation Podcast – “Every week, the Rubin Museum presents a live Mindfulness Meditation session inspired by a different work of art from the Rubin Museum’s collection and led by a prominent meditation teacher.”
10% Happier Podcast – “10% Happier is hosted by Dan Harris, the “New York Times” bestselling author of the book with the same name. This mindfulness podcast addresses a clear, simple approach to meditation alongside some of the most respected meditation teachers in the world. It is great for skeptics and created to help listeners keep it going.”
- Episode Suggestion: Morning Meditation - Listening to Your Thoughts
Untangle – “Untangle, is the podcast from the 5-star app, Meditation Studio and Muse, the Brain Sensing Headband. Experts and ‘real people’ share stories about how mindfulness practices have changed their lives. Hear experiences from business leaders, psychologists, neuroscientists, nutritionists, authors, mindfulness teachers, storytellers and more.”
- Episode Suggestion: Dr. Shauna Shapiro - Activate Your Superpowers: Mindfulness, Self-Compassion, & Neuroplasticity
On Being with Krista Tippett – “Groundbreaking Peabody Award-winning show about the big questions of meaning — spiritual inquiry, science, social healing, and the arts. This mindfulness podcast talks about some of the most animating questions at the core of our lives, such as what it means to be human and how people really want to live their lives. These questions are explored in a rich and complex manner and applied to our 21st-century lives.”
- Episode Suggestion: Kimberley Wilson - Whole Body Mental Health
Mindfulness Meditation Podcast – “Every week, the Rubin Museum presents a live Mindfulness Meditation session inspired by a different work of art from the Rubin Museum’s collection and led by a prominent meditation teacher.”
- Episode Suggestion: Mindfulness Meditation with Kaira Jewel Lingo
10% Happier Podcast – “10% Happier is hosted by Dan Harris, the “New York Times” bestselling author of the book with the same name. This mindfulness podcast addresses a clear, simple approach to meditation alongside some of the most respected meditation teachers in the world. It is great for skeptics and created to help listeners keep it going.”
- Episode Suggestion: What "Getting Out of Your Head" Actually Means with Dawn Mauricio
Streaming Video Resources
Donnelly, Laurie, et al. Mindfulness Goes Mainstream. Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). 2017.
Is Meditation the Medicine of the Mind? Cinetic Rights Management LLC. 2009.
On Meditation. Cinetic Rights Management LLC. 2015
"Meditation: Can it Really Change You?" Catalyst, season 17, episode 17, Australian Broadcasting Corporation. 2016.
Siegel, Ron. Mindfulness Informed Psychotherapy. Milton H. Erickson Foundation. 2016.
Mindfulness: A New Therapeutic Pathway? France Television Distribution. 2017.
Is Meditation the Medicine of the Mind? Cinetic Rights Management LLC. 2009.
On Meditation. Cinetic Rights Management LLC. 2015
"Meditation: Can it Really Change You?" Catalyst, season 17, episode 17, Australian Broadcasting Corporation. 2016.
Siegel, Ron. Mindfulness Informed Psychotherapy. Milton H. Erickson Foundation. 2016.
Mindfulness: A New Therapeutic Pathway? France Television Distribution. 2017.
Online Video Resources
Ambo, Phie. Free the Mind. Danish Documentary Production. 2012
MacGowan, Paul. A Joyful Mind.Open Mind Media. 2016
Robinson, Paul. Mindfulness. Positive Revolution Films. 2020
Long, Russel. Room to Breathe. Sacred Planet Films. 2013
MacGowan, Paul. A Joyful Mind.Open Mind Media. 2016
Robinson, Paul. Mindfulness. Positive Revolution Films. 2020
Long, Russel. Room to Breathe. Sacred Planet Films. 2013
How to Tame Your Wandering Mind
How Mindfulness Changes the Emotional Life of our Brains
| Puddicombe, Andy. All It Takes is 10 Mindful Minutes. TEDx Talk, 2013 Gumina, Carmen. Why Mindfulness is Essential for our Students Today. TEDx Talk, 2018 Britton, Willoughby. Why A Neuroscientist Would Study Meditation. TEDx Talk, 2011 Bouskill, Kathryn. The Unforeseen Consequences of a Fast-Paced World. TEDx Talk, 2019 Iyer, Pico. The Art of Stillness. TEDx Talk, 2014 Sister True Dedication. 3 Questions to Build Resilience -- and Change the World. TEDx Talk, 2021 |
University of Miami Mindfulness Offerings
University of Miami Libraries’ Mindfulness Programs - "The University of Miami Libraries offers introductory mindfulness sessions for health and well-being. These 45-minute online sessions introduce the fundamentals of mindfulness meditation and movement with periods of guided practice and opportunities for reflection and questions."
University of Miami Libraries’ Meditation Room - "The Meditation Room is a dedicated space in the library that exists for the purposes of meditation, prayer, contemplation, and reflection by individuals or small groups. It is located in Richter Library, 2nd Floor, Rm 215 E."
UMindfulness (College of Arts and Sciences) - "An inter-disciplinary collaboration across the University of Miami that brings together cutting-edge brain research and mindfulness/contemplative practice training"
Mindfulness in Law Program (School of Law) - "Led by professor Scott Rogers as a part of the University of Miami School of Law. The Mindfulness in Law program helps law school students, faculty and administrators at Miami Law and across the country incorporate mindfulness practices into their law school ciriculum and experience"
University of Miami Libraries’ Meditation Room - "The Meditation Room is a dedicated space in the library that exists for the purposes of meditation, prayer, contemplation, and reflection by individuals or small groups. It is located in Richter Library, 2nd Floor, Rm 215 E."
UMindfulness (College of Arts and Sciences) - "An inter-disciplinary collaboration across the University of Miami that brings together cutting-edge brain research and mindfulness/contemplative practice training"
Mindfulness in Law Program (School of Law) - "Led by professor Scott Rogers as a part of the University of Miami School of Law. The Mindfulness in Law program helps law school students, faculty and administrators at Miami Law and across the country incorporate mindfulness practices into their law school ciriculum and experience"
Mindfulness Apps
Oak: Meditation and Breathing - Offers guided breathing and breathwork exercises. With individualized meditations and calming soundscapes, Oak provides support for your meditation practice.
Cost: Free
Smiling Mind - Developed by psychologists and educators to assist people in dealing with the pressure, stress and challenges of daily life. The Smiling Mind app offers many free guided meditations and mindfulness programs.
Cost: Free
Plum Village: Zen Meditation - Features guided meditations and other mindfulness practices offered by Zen master Thich Nhat Hanh and his monastic community
Cost: Free
Insight Timer - Offers guided meditations and talks by the world's top meditation and mindfulness experts. Great for beginners and experienced practitioners.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $59.99/year, or $9.99/month
The Mindfulness App - With hundreds of meditations and mindfulness courses, The Mindfulness App is a great place for beginners to get started in their mindfulness practice.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $59.99/year, or $9.99/month
Shine: Calm, Anxiety, & Stress - Founded by two women of color, Shine is a meditation and mental wellness app that offers daily guided meditations, self-care courses, virtual wellness workshops and more.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $69.99/year or $14.99/month
Cost: Free
Smiling Mind - Developed by psychologists and educators to assist people in dealing with the pressure, stress and challenges of daily life. The Smiling Mind app offers many free guided meditations and mindfulness programs.
Cost: Free
Plum Village: Zen Meditation - Features guided meditations and other mindfulness practices offered by Zen master Thich Nhat Hanh and his monastic community
Cost: Free
Insight Timer - Offers guided meditations and talks by the world's top meditation and mindfulness experts. Great for beginners and experienced practitioners.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $59.99/year, or $9.99/month
The Mindfulness App - With hundreds of meditations and mindfulness courses, The Mindfulness App is a great place for beginners to get started in their mindfulness practice.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $59.99/year, or $9.99/month
Shine: Calm, Anxiety, & Stress - Founded by two women of color, Shine is a meditation and mental wellness app that offers daily guided meditations, self-care courses, virtual wellness workshops and more.
Cost: Free basic access, with premium plans available for $69.99/year or $14.99/month
Local Mindfulness and Meditation Centers
Other Mindfulness and Meditation Centers
Contact Information
This guide is maintained by the following individual(s):
To recommend resources to add to this guide, or books or films for the Libraries to purchase, please email Nyabi Benjamin at: nxb575@miami.edu
A Librarian