Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690267
visibleTabCount: 5
Business Library Hours & Library Services
2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
- Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)
-------------------------
2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
- Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
- Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)
-------------------------
UM Libraries' Online Services
For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.
MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs
Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials
Welcome
Welcome to the University of Miami Libraries Research Guide for MGT304. This core course has a course project which requires one to provide a company with advice on how to manage their workers, and maximize company synergy.
This guide will recommend various library research tools that will provide the data needed to develop a company analysis.
This guide will recommend various library research tools that will provide the data needed to develop a company analysis.
================
COMPANY CLASSIFICATIONS
Companies are classified as either public, private or a subsidiary of a larger company.
Public companies sell shares of the company (stocks) to the general public, and are required to submit financial information and annual reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Searching for data on a public company is easier that seeking data on a private or subsidiary company.
Private companies do not sell publicly traded stocks and as a result, are not required to release information to the government or the general public Searching for data on a private company is challenging and is typically limited to directory information and/or news articles.
Subsidiaries of public companies can be difficult to research because the parent company is not required to report on each of them. Subsidiary information may or may not be found in the parent company's reports and/or within news articles.
Access
List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.
Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access. Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password. This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.
NOTE: If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall. All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall
Compiled by:
Miami Herbert Business School students who were enrolled and attended the MGT304 course contributed their recommendations to this guide.
Company Profile
- Business Insights: Global: This database provides profiles on public and private companies. Public company profiles may contain a SWOT analysis report. To access a profile, enter the company name and selec t the "Search" button. Select the company name to access its full profile. Select any of the links to obtain information about the company. Articles about the company are also available via these links. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Mergent Online: This database provides profile data on both public, private, U.S. and international companies. Public company data includes SEC filings, executive biographies, ownership, news, and more. Begin by typing the company name in the search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. Select any tab to access the full company profile. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- ProQuest Business Market Research Collection: This database allows one to enter multiple search criteria and locate company profiles as well as articles on the company's activities.
- Mergent Online: This database provides profile data on both public, private, U.S. and international companies. Public company data includes SEC filings, executive biographies, ownership, news, and more. Begin by typing the company name in the search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. Select any tab to access the full company profile. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- ProQuest Business Market Research Collection: This database allows one to enter multiple search criteria and locate company profiles as well as articles on the company's activities.
Company Corporate Culture
- ABI/INFORM Collection: Search this database to obtain articles on the company's corporate culture. Sources of information are from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.
- Business Source Premier: Obtain articles on the company's corporate culture from various news sources.
- Business Source Premier: Obtain articles on the company's corporate culture from various news sources.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Business Library Hours & Library Services
2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
- Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)
-------------------------
2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
- Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
- Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)
-------------------------
UM Libraries' Online Services
For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.
MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs
Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials
Company News
- Business Source Premier: Obtain current and historical news articles on a company. SWOT analysis reports are also available from this service.
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest): This database returns provides recent press releases on numerous companies.
- Nexis Uni: Provider of current and historical news on companies worldwide.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition: This database returns top news articles from the Wall Street Journal dating from 1980 to the present.
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest): This database returns provides recent press releases on numerous companies.
- Nexis Uni: Provider of current and historical news on companies worldwide.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition: This database returns top news articles from the Wall Street Journal dating from 1980 to the present.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Business Library Hours & Library Services
2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
- Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)
-------------------------
2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
- Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
- Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)
-------------------------
UM Libraries' Online Services
For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.
MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs
Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials
Company Executive Biographies
- Hoover's Company Profiles: In addition to general company information, this database provides information on company board members and executives. Brief biographies are available on the company's top executives. Begin by typing the company name in the search box. Keyboard recognition will display several companies. Pick the company of your choice and select "Search." Select the "Full Text - PDF" report. View the report's "Table of Contents" and go to the "Biographies" section. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Mergent Online: Obtain biographical information on a pubic company's top executives. Begin by typing the company name in the search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. Select the "Executives" tab. Once the desired officer's classification has been selected, scroll down the page. Select the officer's name or open the PDF report to access the officer's biography and compensation history. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Search for a public company in this service and select the People tab. Biographical data will be available on the company's professionals, board members, and committee members. Begin typing the company name in the homepage's search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. When the company profile appears, select the desired officer's rank. The biographies can be downloaded to Word or Excel. Select "Compensation" to view the officer's compensation history. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Mergent Online: Obtain biographical information on a pubic company's top executives. Begin by typing the company name in the search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. Select the "Executives" tab. Once the desired officer's classification has been selected, scroll down the page. Select the officer's name or open the PDF report to access the officer's biography and compensation history. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Search for a public company in this service and select the People tab. Biographical data will be available on the company's professionals, board members, and committee members. Begin typing the company name in the homepage's search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. When the company profile appears, select the desired officer's rank. The biographies can be downloaded to Word or Excel. Select "Compensation" to view the officer's compensation history. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Business Library Hours & Library Services
2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
- Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)
-------------------------
2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
- Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
- Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)
-------------------------
UM Libraries' Online Services
For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.
MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs
Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Business Library Hours & Library Services
2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
- Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)
-------------------------
2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu
Closed on the following University holidays:
- Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
- Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
- Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)
-------------------------
UM Libraries' Online Services
For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.
MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs
Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials
A Librarian