MGT100 - Managing for Success in the Global Environment subjectId: 690259

MGT100 is a required class for all Miami Herbert Business School first-year students. By taking this course, students will learn about cultural competency in the workplace in addition to being exposed to collaborative group work intended to mimic real life corporate scenarios.  

Students enrolled within this course will be assigned a team project. The project focuses on the cultural challenges a multi-national corporation faces when entering a new country. The project will culminate in a formal presentation on whether the group's selected company should be introduced in the selected country. 

This guide recommends the best business databases which support the research needed to complete the MGT100 consulting project. Students are encouraged to search the databases for information regarding their assigned country and company and to use the recommended search tips.

The educational sources listed in this guide were selected based on the following criteria:
- Relevance
- Authority of the author(s) / publisher
- Coverage of topic
- Currency of the information
- Accessibilty

 

Wall Street Journal, The Economist, The Financial Times and New York Times - Gain live digital access to these premier news publications via the UM Libraries.  Using your UM email address, setup your personal account today and begin reading these publications from any one of your moblie devices.  

UM Libraties Online Catalog

The compilation of this course guide has been a collaborative effort between the business librarian, the MGT100 teaching faculty, and business students who have taken the MGT100 course.

- Business Insights Global: This database provides profiles on public and private companies. Public company profiles may contain a SWOT analysis report. To access a profile, enter the company name and select the "Search" button. Select the company name to access its full profile. Select any of the links to obtain information about the company. Articles about the company are also available via these links. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.

- Mergent Online: This database provides profile data on both public, private, U.S. and international companies. Public company data includes SEC filings, executive biographies, ownership, news, and more. Begin by typing the company name in the search box and select the company from the drop-down menu. Select any tab to access the full company profile. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.

- ProQuest Business Market Research Collection: This database allows one to enter multiple search criteria and locate the Hoover's company profiles as well as articles. Copy and paste the following example, replacing the company name in parenthesis with your company of choice for an efficient search option.
Example: PUB(hoover's company records) and TI(linkedin)
 

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

- African Economic Outlook 2022 by the African Development Bank Group

- Business Source Premier: Obtain an assessment of a country's political risk as well as its war, terrorism, social stability, cargo/tranport, property and cybersecurity risks.  Begin by typing this search statement in the search box: TI(country/territory report) and (polit* or govern*). Next, type "TI(your chosen country)" and select the "search" button. Select the PDF report. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.

- Business Source Premier: Retrieve a country PESTLE (politcal, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental) analysis report.  Begin by typing this search statement in the search box: TI(marketline country profile). Next, type "TI(your chosen country)" and select the "search" button. Select the PDF report. 

- CIA's World Factbook:  This service provides intellignce reports on 266 countries.  Coverage includes country history, people, eonomy, labor force, literacy rates, population, median age, physician density, communications, smart city, terrorist groups and more.

- Europa World: This database provides a country profile that includes country statistics and  political organizations' contact information. Click on the drop-down menu, select a country, and press the "Go" button. When the country profile appears, review and select any of the categories. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.

- Global Innovation Index:  The Global Innovation Index provides detailed metrics about the innovation performance of 126 countries and economies around the world.  Latest Global Innovation Country Rankings.

- globalEdge: This site allows you to compare countries based on a variety of indicators of the economy, trade and investment, energy, population age groups, government, infrastructure, education, health, and labor. 

- Political Risk Yearbook: This service forecasts the risk of doing busines in over 100 countries. Each report includes analysis on recent events, political player profiles, and forecast scenarios as well as data on the government, political entities, economy, and more. Begin by selecting a country from the drop-down menu. Next, choose your preferred display method. Once the report is displayed, select a topic from the "Table of Contents" for viewing. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.







 

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

- ABI/Inform Collection: Retrieve various articles on how to conduct business in a foreign country and understand the cultural differences. Copy and paste the example below in the database's search engine and substitute the name of the country listed (mexico) with the country of your choice, to retrieve articles.  
Example: TI(doing business ) and AB(cultur*) and SU(mexico)  

- Access to Asia: your multicultural guide to building trust, inspiring respect, and creating long-lasting business relationships (e-book)

- Business cultures around the world: a practical guide (e-book)

- Commisceo Global's Cross Cultural Management Guides:  Access guides to over 50 countries on managing cultural diversity and improving your management skills.

- Commisceo Global's Culture, Etiquette and Business Practices Guides:  Gain cultural insight on over 80 countries that includes information on the country's culture, language, religion, social etiquette, society, country customs, business culture and etiquette.

- Country Commercial Guides:  For business customs and etiquette, select the Business Travel chapter within your chosen country guide. 

- Cultural Atlas: Contains reports on numerous countries and cultures that focus on categories such as the country's greetings, communication, religion, family, business culture, plus more.

- Global Business Etiquette: a guide to international communication and customs (e-book)

- Global Connectedness Index (searchable by country): Studies how countries are connected in terms of trade, export, and other criteria.

- ​Hofstede Insights Compare Countries: Compares country cultures based on Hofstede dimensions of culture.

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

- Country Commercial Guides via US International Trade Administration:  provides a guide for every country and each one contains a 'Doing business in' chapter.  

- Doing Business in Egypt

- Doing business in emerging markets : roadmap for success (e-book)

- Doing business in Germany: a concise guide to understanding Germans and their business practices (e-book) 

- Doing business in Ghana : challenges and opportunities (e-book)

- Doing business in India : a framework for strategic understanding (e-book)

- Doing business in Jamaica: a qualitative perspective (e-book)

- Doing business in Latin America: challenges & opportunities (e-book)

- Political Freedom (searchable by country)

- World Bank's Doing Business -  Business Regulations in 190 Countries (Historical Reports):  Discontinued as of Sept. 2021, the Doing Business 2004 to 2020 are still available. 

- World Bank's Doing Business Archive: Country specific reports provide quantitative indicators on regulation for starting a business, dealing with construction permits, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting minority investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts, resolving insolvency as well as a ranking on the ease of doing business in the country.
NOTE:  Select a country from the drop-down menu, then select "Download Profile” or “Download Snapshot” for a country overview and additional details.

- World Bank's Subnational reports: Doing Business ...:  Different from the World Bank's Doing Business Archive, these country specific reports cover business regulation and reform in different cities and regions within a nation.

 

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

- ABI/Inform Collection: View country specific industry reports that contain an industry outlook, forecasting data, and a market overview. Copy and paste the following example below in the database's search engine, replacing the country name in parenthesis (germany) with your country of choice.
Example:  PUB(Country Industry Reports) AND TI(germany)

- Business Source Premier: Obtain country specific market research reports that contain market value and volume data as well as market forecasts. Also included in these reports are market segmentation and competitive landscape data. Begin by typing this statement in the search box: TI(marketline industry profile). Next, type "TI(your chosen industry)" and select "Search." Select the PDF report. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.

- Country Commercial Guides: View the best prospects for exporting goods or services from the U.S. into a foreign country. Once you have retrieved the Country Commercial Guide on the country of your choice, go to the chapter on Leading Sectors for US Exports & Investments. This chapter provides a list of best industry investment prospects within a foreign country and includes a market overview as well as trade data.

- MarketResearch.com Academic: This service provides reports from market research firms covering consumer goods, heavy industry, life science, technology & media, food and beverages.   

- Statista: A statistical portal that aggregates over 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics. Market researchers, trade organizations, and governments are contributors of the data within this database. Begin by typing key words in the search box and select the "Search" button. Next, select the data that supports your research. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.


 

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

- AdForum: This free internet site provides directory information on advertising companies within foreign countries.

- Europa World: Select "Directory: Society and Media" within your chosen country's profile to obtain a list of media outlets (print, radio & television.)

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

1.   Visit the UM Libraries' online catalog at:: https://www.library.miami.edu/
2. Search the online catalog by entering the title, author, etc.

Example:  Input Doing Business 2020 in the search box and the first result is:
 

 

3. Click on the button to the right of the source with the 3 dots: …
4. Once you click on the 3 dots, select the APA citation format on the left side of the screen.

 

5. Finally, copy the citation and add it to the last slides of your team’s slide deck, and to the annotated bibliography section of the team paper..

WORLD BANK: Doing Business 2020. (2019). Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series, 56(10), 22748B-22749C.
 

APA Formatting and Style Guide OWL at Purdue University 

APA Documentation Handbook  University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center

APA Style – Supplemental Resources for formatting manuscripts, papers, essays, etc.
(American Psychological Association)

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to:  IRC.reference@miami.edu

2024 Winter Holiday (Dec. 13 - 31)
Business Research Desk (Email service only)
Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Tues., Wed., & Thurs. Dec. 24 - 26, 2024 (Christmas Holiday)
• Tues., Jan. 31, 2024 (New Year's Eve)

-------------------------

2025 January Schedule (January 2 - 12)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Thursday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

2025 Spring schedule (Jan. 13 - April 28)
Business Research Desk (In-person & Email service)
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Email: irc.reference@miami.edu

Closed on the following University holidays:

• Wed., Jan. 1, 2025 (New Year's Day)
• Wed., Jan. 20, 2025 (MLK Day)
• Mon. - Fri., March 10 - 14, 2025 (Spring Recess)

-------------------------

UM Libraries' Online Services

For a full list of the UM Libraries' online services, click here.

MHBS Faculty & Students FAQs

Undergraduate & Graduate Essentials