University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Media Management

Live Web Editions



The Economist
Visit the link above, click log in, enter only your University of Miami email address, and wait to be redirected to the UM single sign-on page.

The Financial Times (Digital Edition)
Note: New users must register using their University of Miami email address.  Registered users may then log in on any device at FT.com

The New York Times (Digital Edition)
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to NYTimes.com and NYT Apps.

The Wall Street Journal Online
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to WSJ.com
 

uSearch

uSearch is the Library's all-purpose search engine. It accesses everything contained in the Library catalog: books, DVDs, online materials, etc.

But uSearch has more than just that. It also lists articles from thousands of journals and newspapers that the Library subscribes to. And it lists thousands of other items that the Library has digitized from our various special collections such as manuscripts, photographs, and postcards.

You can access the world of information in uSearch by using the search box in the center of the Library's web page.

Quick Links

Welcome!

Hello, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries Guide to Media Management Resources! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many media related resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system and beyond.

Primary Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Business Insights: Global
    A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
    S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Rate your Librarian

Did I come to your class and give a talk? Give us your feedback by taking this quick survey.

Streaming Videos

We have streaming video databases! These videos may be viewed by any UM individual or group. Attendance must be free for all group viewings outside of the classroom.
  • Academic Video Online
    AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
    Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
  • Feature Films for Education
    Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
  • Swank Digital Campus
    Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

Catalogs

You can use a catalog to locate books, journals, DVDs, audiobooks, government documents and more. Search the Library Catalog to locate items held by the University of Miami Libraries.

  • Library Catalog
  • WorldCat Online Catalog
    The world's largest 'library' catalog. WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 40 million bibliographic items representing the merged library records of Richter Library & hundreds of other member libraries worldwide.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Media Management Databases

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Business Insights: Global
    A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
  • ComAbstracts
    ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles in communication studies and related areas (rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, new media technologies, and speech).
  • Communication Abstracts
    Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • MRI Simmons
    MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
  • Mergent Online
    Provides Mergent business and industry reports.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
    S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
  • SRDS
    Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • Thomson One Banker
    Thomson One Banker (formerly known as Thomson Analytics) offers company financials, earnings estimates, real-time market data and stock quotes from multiple information sources.
  • World Radio History
    World Radio History is a searchable digital repository of nearly six million pages of AM, FM, and TV broadcasting history from the early 1900s to the current day.

MRI Simmons Training

I strongly recommend watching the training video Insight Platform Introduction.
 
The password is MRISimmons2020. You will actually see several videos there. The one you want is the second one (center of the top row). Half an hour long but well worth the time!

 

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Databases

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
  • ComAbstracts
    ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles in communication studies and related areas (rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, new media technologies, and speech).
  • ComIndex
    ComIndex indexes the contents of major communication journals.
  • Communication Abstracts
    Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
  • Google Scholar @ UM
    Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
  • Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
    ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.The University of Miami is one of over 500 member colleges and universities, and UM faculty and students can download data and documentation for their own research and instructional purposes.
  • Nielsen Newswire
    Nielsen Newswire covers summaries of recent Nielsen research and reports.
  • Nielsen Reports
    This part of the Nielsen includes publicly available research.
  • Pew Research Internet Project
    The Pew Research Internet Project conducts research on Internet and technologies issues. Datasets are available for secondary analysis.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Books - Print & Online

Cable Television Prime Time Programming, 1990-2010
Mitchell E. Shapiro
Online access


Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960
Luther F. Sies
PN 1992.2 .S57 2000


Encyclopedia of Television Pilots, 1937-2012
Vincent Terrace
Online Access


Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 Through 2010
Vincent Terrace
PN 1992.3 .U5 T463 2011 v.1-3


Encyclopedia of Television Subjects, Themes and Settings
Vincent Terrace
PN 1992.18 .T4 2012


Experimental Television, Test Films, Pilots and Trial Series, 1925 Through 1995
Vincent Terrace
PN 1992.8 .P54 T46 2009 v.1-2


On the Air: the Encyclopedia of Old-Time Radio
John Dunning
PN 1991.3 .U6 D8 1998


Radio Network Prime Time Programming, 1926-1967
Mitchell E. Shapiro
PN 1991.3 .U6 S43 2002


Radio Programs, 1924-1984: A Catalog of More Than 1800 Shows
Vincent Terrace
PN 1991.9 .T47 2010


Short-Lived Television Series, 1948-1978: Thirty Years of More than 1,000 Flops
Wesley Hyatt
PN 1992.3 .U5 H95 2003


Television Network Daytime and Late-Night Programming, 1959-1989
Mitchell E. Shapiro
PN 1992.3 .U5 S535 1990


Television Network Prime-Time Programming, 1948-1988
Mitchell E. Shapiro
PN 1992.3 .U5 S54 1989



 

Books - Print & Online

Television Network Prime Time Programming, 1985-2007
Mitchell E. Shapiro
Online Access


Television Network Weekend Programming, 1959-1990
Mitchell E. Shapiro
PN 1992.3 .U5 S545 1992


The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, 1946-Present
Tim Brooks; Earle F. Marsh
PN 1992.3 .U5 B76 2007

The Encyclopedia of Daytime Television
Wesley Hyatt
PN 1992.3 .U5 H93 1997


The Encyclopedia of American Television
Ronald W. Lackmann
PN 1992.18 .L334 2003


The Ultimate Soap Opera Guide
Seli Groves
PN 1992.8 .S4 G76 1995


Total Television: the Comprehensive Guide to Programming from 1948 to the Present
Alex McNeil
PN 1992.3 .U5 M3 1996

TV Game Shows
Maxene Fabe
PN 1992.8 .Q5 F27


 

DVDs

  • Pioneers of Television, Season 1
    DVD Non-fiction  PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.1 Contents include interviews and clips about late night shows, sitcoms, game shows, and variety shows.
  • Pioneers of Television, Season 2
    DVD Non-fiction  PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.2 Contents include interviews and clips about science fiction programs, westerns, crime dramas, and local kids' TV shows.   
  • Pioneers of Television, Season 3
    DVD Non-fiction  PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.3 Contents include interviews and clips about prime-time soaps, funny ladies, superheroes, and miniseries.
  • Pioneers of Television, Season 4
    DVD Non-fiction  PN 1992.75 .P56 2014 Contents include interviews and clips from Seinfeld, Miami Vice, Roseanne, ER, I love Lucy, and Star Trek.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Business Insights: Global
    A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
  • Mergent Online
    Provides Mergent business and industry reports.
  • Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
    Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided. 
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • Thomson One Banker
    Thomson One Banker (formerly known as Thomson Analytics) offers company financials, earnings estimates, real-time market data and stock quotes from multiple information sources.
  • Value Line Research Center
    Online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.Includes access to The Value Line Investment Survey (provides useful information for virtually every investor, covering some 1,700 equity issues and about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries); The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap complements (covers approximately 1,800 additional, mostly small-capitalization, issues); The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey (provides proprietary ranks on over 7,000 mutual funds, full reports including analyst commentaries for an additional 1,500 leading equity funds, and profile summary reports on over 10,000 mutual funds); Value Line Daily Options Survey Access (daily evaluations and ranks of 80,000 listed stock on about 2,000 underlying stocks). The VLRC gives users access to buildable HTML reports, Stock and Mutual Fund screening tools, daily Supplement updates in text and video format, weekly rank changes, and the ability to export screened data.
  • PsycINFO

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Market Research

  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
  • MRI Simmons
    MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Company & Industry

  • Business Insights: Global
    A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
  • Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
    Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided. 
  • Value Line Research Center
    Online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.Includes access to The Value Line Investment Survey (provides useful information for virtually every investor, covering some 1,700 equity issues and about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries); The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap complements (covers approximately 1,800 additional, mostly small-capitalization, issues); The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey (provides proprietary ranks on over 7,000 mutual funds, full reports including analyst commentaries for an additional 1,500 leading equity funds, and profile summary reports on over 10,000 mutual funds); Value Line Daily Options Survey Access (daily evaluations and ranks of 80,000 listed stock on about 2,000 underlying stocks). The VLRC gives users access to buildable HTML reports, Stock and Mutual Fund screening tools, daily Supplement updates in text and video format, weekly rank changes, and the ability to export screened data.

Articles

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Business Insights: Global
    A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.

Company Financials

  • Mergent Online
    Provides Mergent business and industry reports.
  • Thomson One Banker
    Thomson One Banker (formerly known as Thomson Analytics) offers company financials, earnings estimates, real-time market data and stock quotes from multiple information sources.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Major Publications

  • Broadcasting & Cable
    This magazine focuses on the programming, technological, and regulatory aspects of the electronic media industries.
  • TV Technology
    This magazine covers news, products, and applications of broadcast television  transmission and production technologies.
  • TWICE
    This magazine reports news and statistics about the consumer electronics industry.
  • New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
    Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.

Databases

  • ACM Digital Library
    Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
  • S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
    S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Websites

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Databases

  • MRI Simmons
    MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
  • S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence)
    S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Websites

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Citation Managers

Citation managers are software that help you keep track of all the articles, books, and other materials that you may use in your research. The two most commonly used are RefWorks and Endnote. Full details can be found here.

APA Style Guides on the Web

Also, try the APA Style site.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

Video Resources

1.pngAlexander Graham Bell

DVD Non-fiction TK 6143.B4 A44 2005
Online access


This DVD chronicles the life of Alexander Graham Bell and the invention of the telephone.

2.jpgThe American Experience. The Radio Priest

Richter VID 5277




Father Coughlin became one of the first demagogues who used electronic media in the 1930s to spread their controversial messages.

3.jpgBig Dream, Small Screen

Richter VID 2101





This PBS documentary describes the battle of Philo Farnsworth to invent television against its main competitor, RCA.
 

4.jpgClassic Television

DVD Television C 537 .M343




This two-DVD set includes episodes of 18 early television shows: Riverboat, Letter to Loretta, Studio One, The Danny Thomas Show, Texaco Star Theater, Name That Tune, This Is Your Life, Mama, Twenty-One, The George Burns and Gracie Allen Show, Topper, You Bet Your Life, The Jack Benny Show, I Married Joan, The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet, Bold Journey, Suspense, and The Deputy.

5.jpgColor Adjustment

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.8.A34 C656 2004
Online access


This 87-minute video retraces and analyzes portrayals of African-Americans on prime-time television from the 1950s to the 1980s.

6.jpgD.W. Griffith: Father of Film

DVD Non-fiction PN 1998.3.G76 D83 2008



While this director is credited for developing pioneering filmmaking techniques, thereby becoming a leader of the movie industry by the 1920s, he remains primary known for his controversial cinematographic masterpiece, Birth of a Nation.

7.jpgDownload: The True Story of the Internet

DVD Non-fiction TK 5105.885.G66 D69 2009

This series of four DVDs describes the rise of the worldwide web, browser technology, search capabilities, electronic commerce, and Web 2.0.

8.jpgEdward R. Murrow: Voice of America

DVD Non-fiction PN 4784.R2 E393 2006



This documentary chronicles the life and legacy of Edward R. Murrow, widely considered as the father of broadcast journalism.

9.jpgEmpire of the Air: The Men Who Made Radio

DVD Non-fiction TK 6548.U6 E475 2004
Online access

This two-hour Ken Burns documentary reviews the history of radio through the lives of its three main protagonists, Lee de Forest, Edwin Howard Armstrong, and David Sarnoff.

10.jpgThe Face Behind Facebook

DVD Non-fiction TK 5105.88817 .F33 2008
Online access

60 Minutes Leslie Stahl talks to Facebook founder 23-year-old Mark Zuckerberg about the prospects of his company in 2008.

11.jpgThe Facebook Obsession

DVD Non-fiction HM 743.F33 F236 2011
Online access

This 2011 CNBC documentary examines the origins, privacy concerns, uses, and future of Facebook.

12.jpgThe Great Transatlantic Cable

DVD Non-fiction TK 5611 .G743 2005



This video narrates the story of Cyrus Field, a New York entrepreneur, who envisioned and supervised the laying of the first 2000-mile telegraph cable across the Atlantic in 1866.

13.jpgHate. com: Extremists on the Internet

DVD Non-fiction E 184.A1 H37 2000


This 22-minute video examines the issue of hate speech online through Ted Koppel's interview with Don Black, the founder of the white supremacist website Storm Front, and Floyd Abrams, a First Amendment lawyer.

14a.jpgHistory Detectives. Season 7, Episode 705

DVD Non-fiction D 811.A2 H578 2009



This DVD contains a segment that investigates the role of journalist Harry Brundidge in the post-war treason trial of Iva Toguri (Tokyo Rose).

 

15.jpgInside the Mind of Google

DVD Non-fiction HD 9696.8.U64 G66 2010



This CNBC documentary looks at the culture, products, management, and revenue model of Google.

16.jpgThe JFK-Nixon Presidential Debates 1960: Senator John F. Kennedy & Vice-President Richard M. Nixon

DVD Non-fiction JF 2112.D43 J45 2011

Contents cover the three televised presidential debates between Senator John F. Kennedy and Vice-President Richard M. Nixon in 1960, which marked the entrance of television into presidential politics.

17.jpgKilling Us Softly 4: Advertising's Image of Women

DVD Non-fiction HF 5822 .K555 2010
Online access

Jean Kilbourne, a renown speaker on images of women in advertising, lectures on such themes as objectification, slimness, and consumerism.

18.jpgThe Looking Glass: Inside TV News

DVD Non-fiction HE 8700.6 T445 2003



This documentary covers the controlled chaos of television station news operations and addresses the criticism of news sensationalism.

19.jpgThe Mean World Syndrome: Media Violence & The Cultivation of Fear

DVD Non-fiction P 96.V5 T446 2010


Through the work of late leading communication scholar George Gerbner, this DVD introduces viewers to the effects of media violence, including cultivation and desentization effects.

20.jpgMedia Hype: When News Coverage Goes Too Far

DVD Non-fiction P 96.O24 M435 2003
Online access

This 41-minute video produced by ABC News examines the issue of sensationalism, truth, and gullibility in news media coverage.

 

Video Resources - continued

21a.jpgMonkey Trial

DVD Non-fiction KF 224.S3 M665 2006

This documentary chronicles the trial of biology teacher John Scopes who was arrested for teaching evolution in violation of Tennessee state law in 1925.

22.jpgThe Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers

DVD Non-fiction DS 558 .T446 2009

This documentary describes how and why Daniel Ellsberg, a former government official, leaked secret documents about the Vietnam conflict to the press in 1971.

23.jpgNews War

DVD Non-fiction PN 4735 .N497 2007

This four-part series from FRONTLINE addresses the relationship between journalists and the Bush Administration, the consequences of the Valerie Plame investigation, and the challenges to the news business, such as the impact of emerging media.

24.jpgPioneers of Primetime

DVD Non-fiction TK 6638.U6 P566 2005

This DVD covers comedian stars from vaudeville to radio to television; it includes footage from such shows as The Milton Berle Show, The Ed Sullivan Show, The Jack Benny Show, The Red Skelton Show, I Love Lucy, and The Honeymooners.

25.jpgPioneers of Television, Season 1

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.1

Contents include interviews and clips about late night shows, sitcoms, game shows, and variety shows.

26.jpgPioneers of Television, Season 2

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.2

Contents include interviews and clips about science fiction programs, westerns, crime dramas, and local kids' TV shows.

27.jpgPioneers of Television, Season 3

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.3 .U5 P56 2008 v.3

Contents include interviews and clips about prime-time soaps, funny ladies, superheroes, and miniseries.

28.jpgPioneers of Television, Season 4

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.75 .P56 2014

Contents include interviews and clips from Seinfeld, Miami Vice, Roseanne, ER, I Love Lucy, and Star Trek.

29.jpgPropaganda

DVD Non-fiction D 810.P7 P767 2002

This 28-minute video covers political and military propaganda used during the Russian Revolution, World War II, the Gulf War, and NATO attacks against Serbia.

30.jpgPublic Relations

DVD Non-fiction P 90 .M447 2004 v.2

This 28-minute video examines the history, purpose, operations, and crisis management function of public relations.

31.jpgThe Quiz Show Scandal

Richter VID 5276

This PBS video reveals the inside story of the television quiz show scandal in the 1950s that led to the fall of popular Twenty-One contestant Charles Van Doren.

32.jpgThe Quiz Show Scandal and Other Frauds

DVD Non-fiction HV 6695 .Q59 2006

This DVD describes how the producers of Twenty-One, the famous game show in the 1950s, deceived television audiences by prepping contestants for the correct answers.

33.jpgRise of the Hackers

DVD Non-fiction QA76.9.A25 C47 2014

This video explains how social engineering is used to steal someone's digital identity, how the cyber weapon stuxnet was designed, and how quantum physics could be utilized to break the popular RSA encryption.

34.jpgSexual Stereotypes in the Media

DVD Non-fiction P 96.S5 S498 2007

This 38-minute video examines gender stereotypes in the media from a cultural, historical, and sociological perspective.

35.jpgSteve Jobs: One Last Thing

DVD Non-fiction HD 9696.2.U62 J639 2011

This PBS documentary retraces Apple CEO Steve Jobs' life, career, and achievements through the people who knew him.

36.jpgThe Telephone

Richter VID 2102

This PBS video tells the story of how the telephone was invented and deployed commercially in the United States.
 

37.jpgTokyo Rose: Victim of Propaganda

DVD Non-fiction CT 275.T717 T659 1995

After World War II, American-born Iva Toguri who was one of the "Tokyo Rose" announcers was arrested and convicted of treason.

last.jpgTV Violence & You

DVD Non-fiction PN 1992.3.I75 A868 2007

The late leading communication researcher and father of cultivation theory George Gerbner discusses the effects of violent television portrayals on society.

disney.jpgWalt Disney

DVD Non-fiction PN1998.3.D576 W358 2015

Walt Disney was a visionary entrepreneur who created a media and entertainment empire and developed a new award-winning art form.

39.jpgThe War of the Worlds

DVD Non-fiction PR 5777 .A44 2013

On October 30, 1938, Orson Welles and his team performed H.G. Wells' famous science-fiction work on radio and, in the process, caused mass panic among listeners.

 

Streaming Videos

  • Academic Video Online
    AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
    Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu