Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 18624
visibleTabCount: 3
Welcome!
This guide was created to support the research needs of MAIA Program students. Use the tabs to find what you need.
Related guides:
Core Article Databases
START HERE if you are beginning your research:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete. - Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. - PAIS International
PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics. - Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more. - ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. - Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).
Important Databases
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The HAPI database indexes information about Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the United States. - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. - Index Islamicus (1906 - present) (EBSCO)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. - Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles. - LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish; --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database. - Political Risk Yearbook
Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors. - ProQuest Congressional
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications. - Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995. - Military & Government Collection
Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Find Books
- uSearch
- WorldCat.org
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
News Databases
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais. - New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary. - New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014. - Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. - Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Weekly digest of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. - Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English, intended for use in teaching and research. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group. - Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico). - Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Statistics, Public Opinion, Datasets
- EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries. - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.The University of Miami is one of over 500 member colleges and universities, and UM faculty and students can download data and documentation for their own research and instructional purposes. - iPOLL
iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. - NationMaster
Source for statistics derived from CIA World Factbook, OECD, WHO, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO and additional sources. Data presented graphically. - PENN World Table
The Penn World Table is a set of national-accounts data developed and maintained by scholars at the University of Pennsylvania to measure real GDP (per capita) from the corresponding relative price levels across countries and over time. - Polling The Nations
The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion. - SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
International institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. - UNData
Provides access to UN statistical databases through a single entry point. - Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. - UNHCR Population Statistics
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian