Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690443
Collections Online
Arte Publico Digital Humanities Lecture Series
University of Houston, TX
Blanton Museum of Art University of Texas at Austin
Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator (DVCAI)
DCVAI commitment to artists of Caribbean and diverse cultures ensures they receive validation, visibility and professional opportunities.
Explore Artist Porffolios
Fundacion MALBA Buenos Aires, AR
LatinX Spaces
Politics / Music / Art / Literature / Film / Voices
Lowe Art Museum, University of Miami
Art of the Caribbean
Museum of Art Sao Paolo
Research Centers & Portals
Center for Comparative Studies for Race & Ethnicity
Stanford University's interdisciplinary hub for teaching and research on race and ethnicity.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
LLILAS Benson Digital Collection, UT Austin
Resources highlight the heritage of Latin American, U.S. Latinx, African Diasporic, and Indigenous American communities. Special focuses include human rights, colonial documents, visual content, Indigenous languages, and popular culture materials.
Latin American Information Network (LANIC)
The LATINX Project
The Latinx Project at New York University explores and promotes U.S. Latinx Art, Culture and Scholarship through creative and interdisciplinary programs. Founded in 2018, it serves as a platform to foster critical public programming and for hosting artists and scholars.
E-Books
See also: Latin American & Caribbean Studies Guide
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open accessLatinx (adj.): Relating to people of Latin American origin or descent (used as a gender-neutral or non-binary alternative to Latino or Latina)
Antonio Caro, Colombia Coca-Cola, 2010, enamel on tin, Blanton Museum of Art, The University of Texas at Austin.
Websites/ Social Media / Blogs
Black Art in Puerto Rico Arte Afro-Puertorriqueño
Afro-Puertorican visual arts links to resources and exhibits.
Remezcla
Remezcla started as a grassroots project among writers and creatives who shared one common point of view: there were so many great stories about new Latin music, culture, and events that no one was covering. “Traditional Latin media was not for us.”
Emma Turner-Trujillo, Marissa del Toro, and April Ramos. “An Overview of Latino and Latin American Identity”, The Iris: Behind the Scenes at the Getty. September 13, 2017.
Ruda Colectiva
Ruda Colectiva is a group of women photographers, gathered from the need to convene, to put on the table photographs that must be discussed and made visible, from the perspective of women in Latin America.
Ruda Colectiva is a group of women photographers, gathered from the need to convene, to put on the table photographs that must be discussed and made visible, from the perspective of women in Latin America.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgment
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Featured Books & Articles
Dávila, Arlene M., and JSTOR. Latinx Art: Artists, Markets, Politics. Durham: Duke UP, 2020.
Marquéz, Rigoberto. Whats the 'x' in Latinx?. Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity. July 9, 2018.
Torres, Lourdes. "Latinx?" Latino Studies, vol. 16, no. 3, 2018, pp. 283-285. DOI:10.1057/s41276-018-0142-y
Issue features two stimulating El Foro contributions that lay out some of the positions in favor of or against the use of the term “Latinx.”
Article Indexes & Databases
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
Hispanic American Perodicalas Index (HAPI)
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and US Latinos, 1970-present.
Latin America in Video Alexander Street Press
LGBT Life
Database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues with substantial coverage of Latinx topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Hispanic American Perodicalas Index (HAPI)
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and US Latinos, 1970-present.
Latin America in Video Alexander Street Press
LGBT Life
Database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues with substantial coverage of Latinx topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Reference
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian