Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690454
visibleTabCount: 1
Collections Online
The Collections Online links directly coincide with the institution's SEARCH feature.
UNITED STATES
UNITED STATES
Art Museum of the Americas of the Organization of American States (AMA) Washington, DC
Search images and essays on selection of 100 objects by artist, country, movement or medium.
Blanton Museum of Art Austin, TX
Features over 2,100 modern and contemporary paintings, prints drawings, and sculptures, reflecting the enormous diversity of artistic tradition in the region. Mexico, South and Central America, and the Caribbean are represented. The Holdings constitute one of the oldest, largest and most comprehensive collections of Latin American art in the country.
Los Angeles County Art Museum (LACMA)
Latin American Modernism
Mexic-Arte Museum. Austin, TX
El Museo del Barrio
The preeminent forum and resource in the U.S. dedicated to Caribbean, Latino, and Latin American art.
Museo de Arte Contemporaneo Puerto Rico (MACPR)
Museum of Latin American Art (MOLAA) Long Beach, CA
MOLAA is dedicated to modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art.
Museum of Modern Art, NY
MoMA Cisneros Institute Resources
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Latin American Art Collections
Smithsonian American Art Museum Latino Art & Artists
ARGENTINA
Fundacion MALBA Buenos Aires
BRAZIL
Museum of Art Sao Paolo (MASP)
Oscar Niemeyer Museum (MON)
Dedicated to the exhibition of Visual Arts, Architecture, Urbanism and Design
Museo Nacional de Belas Artes (MBA) Rio de Janeiro
CHILE
Museo de la Memoria Santiago, Chile
Museum is dedicated to commemorate the victims of human rights violations during the civic military regime led by Augusto Pinochet between 1973 and 1990.
Museo de Artes Visuales (MAVI)
COLOMBIA
Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogota (MAMBO)
Museo de Arte Moderno Medellin
MEXICO
Museo Tamayo Chapultepec, MX
Museo de Arte Moderno Mexico City
PERU
Museum of Contemporary Art (MAC) Lima
MAC has a collection of modern, contemporary, national and international art dating from 1950 onwards, founded in 2013.
Museo Mario Testino (MATE) Barranca
MATE is a not-for-profit centre founded by Mario Testino in 2012. It aims to bring Peruvian artists and culture to worldwide attention, while offering the best of international contemporary art and photography to audiences in Lima.
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access
Joaquin Torres-Garcia. America Invertida. 1943.
Courtesy Museo Nacional de Artes Visuales,
Montevideo, Uruguay
University of Miami Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn._
Article Indexes & Databases
E-Books
Frank, Patrick. Manifestos and Polemics in Latin American Modern Art. University of New Mexico Press, 2017.
Montgomery, Harper. The Mobility of Modernism: Art and Criticism in 1920s Latin America. University of Texas Press, 2017.
Novillo-Corvalán, Patricia. Modernism and Latin America: Transnational Networks of Literary Exchange. Routledge, 2018.
Ramírez, Mari Carmen, et al. Resisting Categories Latin American and/or Latino? Museum Fine Arts: International Center for the Arts of the Americas, 2012.
Novillo-Corvalán, Patricia. Modernism and Latin America: Transnational Networks of Literary Exchange. Routledge, 2018.
Ramírez, Mari Carmen, et al. Resisting Categories Latin American and/or Latino? Museum Fine Arts: International Center for the Arts of the Americas, 2012.
Print Resources
Lejeune, Jean-François, et al. Cruelty & Utopia: Cities and Landscapes of Latin America. English ed., Princeton Architectural Press, 2005.
Ramírez, Mari Carmen, et al. Inverted Utopias: Avant-Garde Art in Latin America. Yale University Press ; Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, 2004.
Sullivan, Edward J. From San Juan to Paris and Back : Francisco Oller and Caribbean Art in the Era of Impressionism. Yale University Press, 2014.
Sullivan, Edward J. Arte Latinoamericano Del Siglo XX. Nerea, 1996.
Sullivan, Edward J. Latin American Art in the Twentieth Century. Phaidon Press, 1996.
Sullivan, Edward J. Making the Americas Modern: Hemispheric Art, 1910-1960. Laurence King Publishing, 2018.
Ramírez, Mari Carmen, et al. Inverted Utopias: Avant-Garde Art in Latin America. Yale University Press ; Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, 2004.
Sullivan, Edward J. From San Juan to Paris and Back : Francisco Oller and Caribbean Art in the Era of Impressionism. Yale University Press, 2014.
Sullivan, Edward J. Arte Latinoamericano Del Siglo XX. Nerea, 1996.
Sullivan, Edward J. Latin American Art in the Twentieth Century. Phaidon Press, 1996.
Sullivan, Edward J. Making the Americas Modern: Hemispheric Art, 1910-1960. Laurence King Publishing, 2018.
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: gsantana@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian