Judaic Studies subjectId: 13832

Mural Painting, Jewish Catacomb, Rome, 3rd C., C.E.

The Libraries' holdings represent most periods and areas of Jewish life from the Biblical era to contemporary America and support the George Feldenkreis Program in Judaic Studies. Coverage also includes Israel, European Jewish history, the Holocaust, and Latin American Jewry. The Jewish diaspora is a special strength of the collection, including contributions of Jewish intellectuals and activists to modern society. All types of Jewish related scholarship are acquired, as is literature by Jewish-American authors. Geographical coverage includes the Middle East and the countries of the Jewish diaspora, especially Latin America and the USA. The primary language of the collection is English, with some material in Hebrew and Yiddish and other languages. The library also owns the Jewish Heritage Video Collection of films, television features and documentaries.

• Department of Religious Studies
• Citation Style Guide

• Citation Style Guide

• Gale Academic OneFile
  Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• America: History and Life
  America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
• eHRAF World Cultures
  The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. As of the year 2000, the Collection of Ethnography on the Web contains 78 selected cultures from around the world, including information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics range from family relationships to religious practices to ideas about gender.
• Index Islamicus (1906 - present) (EBSCO)
  Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• MLA International Bibliography
  The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
• New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
  Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.
• Religious & Theological Abstracts
  Religious & Theological Abstracts (RTA) provide summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.

• Oxford Art Online
  Scholarly art encyclopedia covering Western and non-Western visual art. The vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources are made available in one location.
• Timeline of Art History - The Metropolitan Museum of Art
• JSTOR with Image Search
  ARTstor images are now available via JSTOR image search. When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find Artstor's 3.2+ million licensed images and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

• Aleppo Codex
  The oldest and most complete Hebrew Bible in existence, now available online.
• Braginsky Collection
  Braginsky Collection of Hebrew Manuscripts and Printed Books. See their exhibition catalog of marriage contracts.
• Etana
  Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives.
• Freiburg-Sammlung Collection
  Freimann-Sammlung collection from Goethe University in Frankfurt of rare 19th-20th c. Judaica.
• Harvard Library Judaica Division's Online Publications
• HebrewBooks.Org
  HebrewBooks.Org was funded in order to preserve old Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation.
• Hispania Judaica
  Hispania Judaica is a research project within the Dinur Centre for Research in Jewish History at the Institute of Jewish Studies in the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The field of work is related to the history of Spanish and Portuguese Jewry and the Conversos in the Iberian Peninsula both before and after the 1492 expulsion; it includes organisation of symposiums and lectures on the subject and publication of research books.
• Jewish Population in the United States, 2014
  
• JewishGen: The Home of Jewish Genealogy
  
• JTS Library Special Treasures
  The Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary has made available electronically for the first time some of its unique and valuable collections.
• Judaic Academic and Library Links (CAJS Library, U. of Pennsylvania)
  
• Judaica Sound Archives
  The Judaica Sound Archives is a major center for the collection, preservation and digitization of Judaica audio recordings. It is located at Florida Atlantic University.
• Judaica-Europeana
  Judaica Europeana works with cultural institutions to identify and provide access online to content which documents the Jewish presence and heritage in the cities of Europe. The illustrated newsletter brings Jewish heritage collections online. It is a Europe-wide initiative involving museums, libraries and archives.
• Milken Archive of American Jewish Music
  
• Sephardic Kettubot Collection
  Sephardic Ketubbot Collection at the National Library of Israel. To search, use this website: http://www.sephardicgen.com/databases/KetubotIsraelSrchFrm.html
• University of Toronto Libraries - Jewish Studies Research Guide
  
• Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism
  
• Yiddish Book Center
  The Yiddish Book Center works to rescue Yiddish and other modern Jewish books and open up their content to the world.
• YIVO Archives
  Online Guide to YIVO Archives provides access to information about more than 23 million documents, photographs, recordings, posters, and films reflecting the life and culture of Jews around the world. It is also one of the foremost resources for the study of East European Jewry, Yiddish literature and language, the Holocaust, and the American Jewish immigrant experience.

• Judaic Studies E-Resources (CAJS Library, U. of Pennsylvania)

• Ancient Maps of Jerusalem
  
• Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
  This is a full-text database with detailed descriptions and statistics on thousands of countries, cities, mountains, rivers, and every other kind of political area or geographic feature. It allows the user to look up a single place or to produce lists of features based on statistical criteria  i.e., a list of longest rivers or cities over 1000 feet above sea level.
• Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas
  The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas Web site provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide. All maps available on this server are in the public domain, and may be freely downloaded and copied.

• Early Jewish Writings
  Philo, Josephus, Pesudepigrapha
• English Translation of Portions of the Talmud
  From Internet Sacred Texts Archive
• Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary
  
• Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts
  Entirely in Hebrew and Aramaic.

• Guide to Yale University Library Holocaust Video Testimonies
  
• Holocaust Era Assets
  
• Holocaust, Israel and the Jews: Motion Pictures in the National Archives.
  Guide to motion pictures held by the National Archives and Records Administration in Washington, D.C. Sections are devoted to the Holocaust, Concentration Camps, Jews in America during W.W. II, and Jews in Europe before W.W. II.
• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
  
• Yad Vashem
  

• Researching the Holocaust - University of Pa. Library