University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

JMM 108: Writing for a Digital Age

Live Web Editions



The Economist
Visit the link above, click log in, enter only your University of Miami email address, and wait to be redirected to the UM single sign-on page.

The Financial Times (Digital Edition)
Note: New users must register using their University of Miami email address.  Registered users may then log in on any device at FT.com

The New York Times (Digital Edition)
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to NYTimes.com and NYT Apps.

The Wall Street Journal Online
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to WSJ.com
 

  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
  • Florida Digital Newspaper Library
    The Florida Digital Newspaper Library (FDNL) exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. Over 700,000 pages of historic and current Florida newspapers in the FDNL are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
  • Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
    A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
  • Miami Herald (1911-Current)
    Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
  • New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
    Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

    284-6028

Rate your Librarian

Did I come to your class and give a talk? Give us your feedback by taking this quick survey.

USearch