IGS 613: Global Cultures, Religions, and Security subjectId: 690405

• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• CQ Researcher Plus Archive
  The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
• EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
  In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• PAIS International
  PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• ProQuest Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
• Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).

• ELDIS - Development & Environment Information
  Eldis is a gateway to global development information on international development issues. It provides free and easy access to materials on developing countries including summaries and links to documents, library catalogues, international development newsfeeds, e-mail discussion lists and resource guides. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
• Index Islamicus
  The Index Islamicus database is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Produced by Brill Academic Publishers, it covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906.
• Index to Jewish Periodicals
  Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
• Military & Government Collection
  Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
• Political Risk Yearbook
  Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
• ProQuest Congressional
  Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.
• Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
  A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Digital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. 
Marcive WebDocs: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Marcive Web Docs provides access to the Catalog of Government Printing Office Documents.The catalog provides information on all types documents issued by the federal government.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content. 
U.S. Documents Masterfile
A guide to federal, state, local and international public documents.

• Access World News
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• Ethnic NewsWatch
  Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
• Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
  Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
• Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
  A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
• New York Times Digital Edition
  Digital edition of The New York Times.
• New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 2000.

• IMF eLIBRARY
  The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators.
• OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary
  OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF.
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
• World Bank Open Data
  Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

• EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
  In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
• Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
  Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented.
• Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
  ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.
• iPOLL
  iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
• PENN World Table
  The Penn World Table is a set of national-accounts data developed and maintained by scholars at the University of Pennsylvania to measure real GDP (per capita) from the corresponding relative price levels across countries and over time.
• SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
  International institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.
• UN Data
  Simple single-entry point for a variety of statistical resources including those from United Nations Organizations such as FAO, UNESCO, ILO, WHO, UNDP, ITU, UNHCR, and more.

• Learning Commons offers free tutoring in all subjects, including access to the Writing Center. 
• Creative Studio offers help with creativity software, including Adobe Creative Cloud, poster printing, digitization, 3D printing, virtual reality, and gaming.
• Schedule research consultations with Data Services librarians on data management and analysis.
• Access the UM Electronic Thesis and Dissertations database.
• Reserve multimedia equipment such as digital videos and audio microphones. 
• Attend various Workshops on Data Management, Digital Humanities, and GIS.
• Obtain an ORCID to distinguish yourself academically.