University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

INS 561 Negotiating & Bargaining

United Nations Databases

  • UN Website
    Use the search box in the top right to find information on any topic within the purview of the United Nations. Also, please note the "Structure and Organization" section and the "In Focus" and "Global Issues" boxes.

UN Links

Investigate a Country or Research a Topic

 

Helpful article and report databases to investigate countries and/or topics:

Political Risk Yearbook: Provides political and economic risk reports on 106 countries.

ProQuest Research Library: In-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.

ProQuest Newsstand: Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, and more. International coverage includes Guardian, Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, El Pais. Use dropdown menus to search individual publications.

Economist Intelligence Unit: Global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.

 

To investigate a country, use some of the following sources:

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets: From the US State Dept.

CIA World Factbook: US government website from the Central Intelligence Agency.

Europa World Plus: Combines Europa World Yearbook and Europa Regional Surveys of the World.

Websites of US embassies, consulates, and diplomatic missions: from US Dept. of State.

Subject Specialist

Statistics and Data

  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.