Industry Research subjectId: 687781

Welcome

Welcome to the industry research guide. This guide provides you with recommended library resources for your research. If you have a research question which these guides do not address, please click here.

Industry Research

In the United States, the nature of a company's business is classified by an industry coding system known as the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The NAICS is the modern standard used by U.S. Federal statistical agencies for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing industry statistics.

For example, Walt Disney is in the Amusement Parks industry. The NAICS code for Amusement Parks is 713110. By using this industry code, one would be able to pull up various industry statistics, competitors, etc.

The NAICS was developed under the Office of Management and Budget and adopted in 1997. It replaces the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system which was a 4-digit code. The purpose of the NAICS code is to allow for high level of comparability in business statistics among the North American countries.

NAICS code lookup

Access

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access. Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password. This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE: If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall. All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall.