Health Management & Policy (HMP) subjectId: 687785

Welcome to the Research Guide for the subject discipline of Health Care. This guide provides you with recommended library resources for your research. If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.  

COVID-19: Florida Vaccine Summary

Florida's COVID-19 Data and Surveillance Dashboard

Florida COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker

Florida Health - COVID-19

• Healthcare Act and Small Businesses
  Learn what the law means for small businesses and self-employed business owners.

• ABI/INFORM Collection
• Business Source Premier
• EconLit
• Nexis Uni
• Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
• PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.  Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password.  This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE:  If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall.  All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall.

• ABI/INFORM Complete 
  ABI/INFORM Complete indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Complete edition brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information).
• Academic Search Premier  
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Business Source Premier  
  Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
• Coronavirus Research Report
  A health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
• EconLit 
  EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a source for references to economic literature dating back to 1969. EconLit provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
• Gale Academic OneFile  
  Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
• Gale OneFile: Business  
  Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
• Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine 
  Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
• Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)  
  Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
• MedlinePlus  
  Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.
• PsycINFO 
  Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
• Public Administration Abstracts 
  Includes 60,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
• World Health Organization (WHO) 
  The World Health Organization provides access to articles on the topic of health care management as well as health care policy.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics - Consumer Expenditures
• CDC - Consumer Expenditures
• OECD - Health Statistics - Expenditures & Financing

• Academy of Health Care Management Journal
• American Journal of Public Health
• Health Affairs
• Health Economics
• Health Services Management Research
• International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics
• Journal of Health and Human Services Administration
• Journal of Health Economics
• Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law
• PharmacoEconomics
• Value in Health

• Gale Academic OneFile
  Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
  Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest, Eastern edition (1984-Current)
  American economic and business topics, and financial news and issues.

• American Society for Bioethics & Humanities
  The American Society for Bioethics and Humanities promotes the exchange of ideas and fosters multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, and inter-professional scholarship, research, teaching, policy development, professional development and collegiality among people engaged in clinical and academic bioethics and the medical humanities.
• Public Responsibility in Medicine & Research
  Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R) advances the highest ethical standards in the conduct of biomedical, behavioral, and social science research. We accomplish this mission through education, membership services, professional certification, public policy initiatives, and community building.
• Society for Medical Decision Making
  We are researchers, clinicians, educators, managers and policy makers from a variety of backgrounds and academic disciplines. We work in hospitals, universities, corporations, foundations, and government agencies across the globe. Virtually all medical disciplines are represented in SMDM.
• University Faculty for Life
  University Faculty for Life was founded in 1989 to promote research, dialogue and publication by faculty who respect the value of human life from inception to natural death. Abortion, infanticide and euthanasia are highly controversial topics, but we believe they should not be resolved by the shouting, newsbites and slogans that have dominated popular presentations. Because we believe the evidence is on our side, we would like to assure a hearing for our views in the academic community.

• Center for Bioethics & Culture Network
  The Center for Bioethics and Culture (CBC) addresses bioethical issues that most profoundly affect our humanity, especially issues that arise in the lives of the most vulnerable among us. The CBC works through a variety of media platforms, including documentary film, writing, speaking, interviews in mainstream media, and new media platforms.
• Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity
  The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity explores the nexus of biomedicine, biotechnology, and our common humanity. Within a Judeo-Christian Hippocratic framework, we anticipate, interpret, and engage the pressing bioethical issues of our day. As a center of rigorous research, theological and conceptual analysis, charitable critique, and thoughtful engagement, we bring clarity to the complex issues of our day.
• Ethics and Public Policy Center
  Founded in 1976, the Ethics and Public Policy Center is Washington, D.C.’s premier institute dedicated to applying the Judeo-Christian moral tradition to critical issues of public policy. From the Cold War to the war on terrorism, from disputes over the role of religion in public life to battles over the nature of the family, EPPC and its scholars have consistently sought to defend and promote our nation’s founding principles—respect for the inherent dignity of the human person, individual freedom and responsibility, justice, the rule of law, and limited government.
• Human Genome Project Information Archive (Ethical, Legal, and Social Issues)
  Begun formally in 1990, the U.S. Human Genome Project was a 13-year effort coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The project originally was planned to last 15 years, but rapid technological advances accelerated the completion date to 2003.
• Kennedy Institute of Ethics
  The Kennedy Institute of Ethics is a center for practically engaged ethics at Georgetown University. Established in 1971 with a founding interest in medical ethics, it is one of the oldest academic ethics centers in the world.
• National Catholic Bioethics Center
  Access church documents on bioethics.
• Presidential Commision for the Study of Bioethics
  This Commission is an advisory panel of the nation’s leaders in medicine, science, ethics, religion, law, and engineering. They advise the President on bioethical issues arising from advances in biomedicine and related areas of science and technology. Access their meeting transcripts, latest news, projects, updates, and more. 

• Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports
  Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports covers political risk, finance, macroeconomic performance, outlook and forecast, industry sectors and the business operating environment. It features data covering production, sales, imports and exports; 5-year industry forecasts through end-2012; company rankings and competitive landscapes for multinational and local manufacturers and suppliers; and analysis of latest industry developments, trends and regulatory changes.
• Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
  Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided. 
• Value Line Research Center
  Online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.Includes access to The Value Line Investment Survey (provides useful information for virtually every investor, covering some 1,700 equity issues and about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries); The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap complements (covers approximately 1,800 additional, mostly small-capitalization, issues); The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey (provides proprietary ranks on over 7,000 mutual funds, full reports including analyst commentaries for an additional 1,500 leading equity funds, and profile summary reports on over 10,000 mutual funds); Value Line Daily Options Survey Access (daily evaluations and ranks of 80,000 listed stock on about 2,000 underlying stocks). The VLRC gives users access to buildable HTML reports, Stock and Mutual Fund screening tools, daily Supplement updates in text and video format, weekly rank changes, and the ability to export screened data.

• American Hospital Association Resource Center 
  The AHA Resource Center is a vital tool for health care leaders and others who need to keep well-informed to meet the challenges of today and tomorrow. Resources available include: Quick information service, Document delivery service, and Information and data retrieval service.
• CDC - Hospital Utilization Statistics 
• Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Statistics 
  Obtain time-series data on numerous health conditions and issues. Includes statistics by race, disability, diseases, education, expenditures, insurance, risk factors, injury, poverty, state, gender, and age groups.
• Commonwealth fund - Surveys & Data 
• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care 
  For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Search by region, hospital, or topic.
• Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) from USAID 
  DHS supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of countries around the world. Search the surveys by country, disease, or year.
  
  European Observatory on Health Systems and Policy Monitor
• OECD Health Statistics 
• WHO - Country Health Statistics 
• WHO - Disease an injury country estimates 
• WHO - World Health Statistics
   
•  

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
• The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) publishes evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost, use, and access.
• American Hospital Association Resource Center
  The AHA Resource Center is a vital tool for health care leaders and others who need to keep well-informed to meet the challenges of today and tomorrow. Resources available include: Quick information service, Document delivery service, and Information and data retrieval service.
• Commonwealth Fund - International Health Policy Center
• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
  For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Search by region, hospital, or topic.
• Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) from USAID
  DHS supports a range of data collection options that can be tailored to fit specific monitoring and evaluation needs of countries around the world. Search the surveys by country, disease, or year.
• European Observatory on Health Systems & Policies
• Health Care Law
  Provides a number of resources on the laws and regulations protecting patients, as well as the federal programs helping vulnerable individuals get the medical services they need. You'll find articles on choosing a physician, patient rights, informed consent, planning long-term care, medical marijuana laws, the differences between Medicare and Medicaid, and more.
• Health Systems and Policy Monitor
  This website provides a detailed description of the health systems that are in place in numerous countries. It also provides up to date information on reforms and changes that are particularly policy relevant.
• National Center for Health Statistics
  The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. The service provides information based on collection systems such as vital statistics, health care, hospital, and health insurance data.
• OECD - Health Policy in your Country
• Office of Technology Transfer at the National Institute of Health
  The Office of Technology Transfer (OTT) oversees patent prosecution and negotiates and monitors licensing agreements. Use their site to locate information about licensing, royalties, policies and much more.
• WHO - Health System Governance

• Aging Life Care Association
• America's Health Insurance Plans
• America's Association of Health Plans
• American Academy of Medical Administrators
• American Association for Physician Leadership
• American Association of Critical Care Nurses
• American Association of Health Care Administrative Management
• American Association of Nurse Anesthetists
• American Association of Nurse Practitioners
• American Association of Occupational Health Nurses
• American Board of Surgery
• American College of Nurse Practitioners
• American College of Nurse-Midwives
• American College of Surgeons
• American Holistic Health Association
• American Medical Association
• American Medical Women's Association
• American Mental Health Counselors Association
• American Nurses Association
• American Society of General Surgeons
• American Society on Aging
• Association of American Physicians & Surgeons
• Association of Pediatric Oncology Nurses
• Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses
• Association of Women Surgeons
• Health Care Compliance Association
• Health Industry Distributors Association
• Healthcare Business Management Association
• Healthcare Business Women's Association
• Healthcare Financial Management Association
• Hospice Foundation of America
• Independent Medical Distributors Association
• International Association of Eating Disorders Professionals Foundation
• Mental Health America
• National Association for Healthcare Quality
• National Association of Community Health Centers
• National Association of Benefits and Insurance Professionals
• National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates & Practitioners
• National Association of Public Health Statistics & Information Systems
• National Hispanic Medical Association
• The Gerontological Society of America