Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690544
visibleTabCount: 1
Allan T. Shulman Conservation/Preservation Reports, University of Miami Libraries
OSCAR (Online Sustainable Conservation Assistance Resource) / Initiative of the Association for Preservation Technology International (APTI) and its Technincal Committee on Sustainable Preservation
The Secretary Of The Interior’s Standards For Rehabilitation & Illustrated Guidelines On Sustainability For Rehabilitating Historic Buildings. National Park Service
E-Books
Albert, Bandarin, Pereira Roders, Albert, Marie-Theres, Bandarin, Francescot. Going beyond: Perceptions of Sustainability in Heritage Studies No. 2. Heritage Studies. Cham: Springer, 2017.
Albert, Marie-Theres., Caroline. Lawrence, and Judith. Andreyev. Perceptions of Sustainability in Heritage Studies. Heritage Studies (Berlin, Germany); v. 4. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2015.
Licciardi, Guido., Rana. Amirtahmasebi, and World Bank. The Economics of Uniqueness Investing in Historic City Cores and Cultural Heritage Assets for Sustainable Development. Urban Development Series (Washington, D.C.). Washington, D.C.: World Bank, 2012.
Longstreth, Richard W., and National Forum on Historic Preservation Practice. Sustainability & Historic Preservation toward a Holistic View. Newark [Del.]: Lanham, Md.: University of Delaware Press ; Rowman & Littlefield, 2011.
National Trust for Historic Preservation. Why Old Places Matter: How Historic Places Affect Our Identity and Well-being. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2018.
Page, Maxt. Why Preservation Matters. New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 2016.
Rodwell, Dennis. Conservation and Sustainability in Historic Cities. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publ., 2007.
United States. Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, Author. Strategic Sustainability Performance Plan., 2010.
Young, Robert A. Stewardship of the Built Environment Sustainability, Preservation, and Reuse. 2012. Metropolitan Planning Design. Washington, DC: Island Press/Center for Resource Economics: Island Press, 2012.
Albert, Marie-Theres., Caroline. Lawrence, and Judith. Andreyev. Perceptions of Sustainability in Heritage Studies. Heritage Studies (Berlin, Germany); v. 4. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2015.
Licciardi, Guido., Rana. Amirtahmasebi, and World Bank. The Economics of Uniqueness Investing in Historic City Cores and Cultural Heritage Assets for Sustainable Development. Urban Development Series (Washington, D.C.). Washington, D.C.: World Bank, 2012.
Longstreth, Richard W., and National Forum on Historic Preservation Practice. Sustainability & Historic Preservation toward a Holistic View. Newark [Del.]: Lanham, Md.: University of Delaware Press ; Rowman & Littlefield, 2011.
National Trust for Historic Preservation. Why Old Places Matter: How Historic Places Affect Our Identity and Well-being. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2018.
Page, Maxt. Why Preservation Matters. New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 2016.
Rodwell, Dennis. Conservation and Sustainability in Historic Cities. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publ., 2007.
United States. Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, Author. Strategic Sustainability Performance Plan., 2010.
Young, Robert A. Stewardship of the Built Environment Sustainability, Preservation, and Reuse. 2012. Metropolitan Planning Design. Washington, DC: Island Press/Center for Resource Economics: Island Press, 2012.
Print Resources
Carroon, Jean. Sustainable Preservation: Greening Existing Buildings. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2010.
Cody, Jeffrey W., and Francesco Siravo. Historic Cities: Issues in Urban Conservation. Readings in Conservation. Los Angeles: Getty Conservation Institute, 2019.
Tyler, Norman, Ilene R. Ligibel, and Ligibel, Ted. Historic Preservation: An Introduction to Its History, Principles, and Practice. Third ed. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2018.
Cody, Jeffrey W., and Francesco Siravo. Historic Cities: Issues in Urban Conservation. Readings in Conservation. Los Angeles: Getty Conservation Institute, 2019.
Tyler, Norman, Ilene R. Ligibel, and Ligibel, Ted. Historic Preservation: An Introduction to Its History, Principles, and Practice. Third ed. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2018.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgment
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and Miccosukee Tribe of Indians who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Reports / Guidelines
“Historic preservation is a rolling challenge that presents itself in a different way to every generation. In a sense it’s the preservation of the city’s DNA.”
Allan Todd Shulman. 2001. “Urban Genes”, Miami Today.
OSCAR (Online Sustainable Conservation Assistance Resource) / Initiative of the Association for Preservation Technology International (APTI) and its Technincal Committee on Sustainable Preservation
The Secretary Of The Interior’s Standards For Rehabilitation & Illustrated Guidelines On Sustainability For Rehabilitating Historic Buildings. National Park Service
Española Way, Miami Beach, FL.
Organizations
Local/Regional
Dade Heritage Trust
Historic Preservation Association of Coral Gables
Miami Design Preservation League (MDPL)
Hemispheric
National Trust for Historic Preservation
Global/International
do.co,mo.mo international
Non-profit organization dedicated to documentation and conservation of buildings, sites and neighborhoods of the Modern Movement.
ICOMOS International Council on Mouments & Sites
Dade Heritage Trust
Historic Preservation Association of Coral Gables
Miami Design Preservation League (MDPL)
Hemispheric
National Trust for Historic Preservation
Global/International
do.co,mo.mo international
Non-profit organization dedicated to documentation and conservation of buildings, sites and neighborhoods of the Modern Movement.
ICOMOS International Council on Mouments & Sites
Journals & Serials
Preservation Magazine
National Trust for Historic Preservation.
National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Article Indexes & Databases
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) is a collection that documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS)
The Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) mission is to record historic landscapes in the United States and its territories through measured drawings and interpretive drawings, written histories, and large-format black and white photographs and color photographs.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) is a collection that documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS)
The Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) mission is to record historic landscapes in the United States and its territories through measured drawings and interpretive drawings, written histories, and large-format black and white photographs and color photographs.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
A Librarian