HIS 447: History of Communism subjectId: 690587

This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, and archival materials, relating to the history of Marxism, Leninism, Stalinism, Maoism, and the impact of communism and communist thought in the 20th century. 

Sources for Writing History Papers

• A Brief Guide to Writing History Papers
• Resources on History Writing
• Tips and Examples of Writing a Thesis Statement
• WikiEducation Dashboard: Student Training Modules

General Citation Sources

• Chicago Manual of Style Online
• EndNote
• Mendeley
• RefWorks
• Zotero

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. 
 
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.

HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. 

Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. 
 
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
 A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.

Columbia International Affairs Online
Full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.

WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.

 

Story, Isabel. Soviet Influence on Cuban Culture, 1961-1987: When the Soviets Came to Stay. Lexington Studies on Cuba. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2020.

Gálvez, W., & Guevara, C. (1999). Che in Africa: Che Guevara's Congo Diary. Melbourne; New York: Ocean Press.

Hoffmann, D. (2003). Stalinism: The essential readings (Blackwell essential readings in history). Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.

Ree, E. (2002). The political thought of Joseph Stalin a study in twentieth-century revolutionary patriotism. London: Routledge.

Smulewicz-Zucker, G., & Schields, C. (2017). The political thought of African independence: An anthology of sources. Indianapolis: Hackett Publishing Company.

Priestland, D. (2009). The Red Flag: A History of Communism. New York: Grove Press.

Babiracki, P., ProQuest, & ProQuest CSA. (2016). Socialist Internationalism in the Cold War: Exploring the Second World. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan.

Robin D. G. Kelley. (2015). Hammer and Hoe (Twenty-Fifth Anniversary ed.). Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina Press.

Weiss, H., & ProQuest. (2017). International communism and Transnational Solidarity: Radical Networks, Mass Movements, and Global Politics, 1919-1939 (Studies in global social history; Volume 26). Leiden, [The Netherlands]; Boston, [Massachusetts]: Brill.

Gorsuch, A., Koenker, D., & Ebrary, Inc. (2013). The Socialist Sixties Crossing Borders in the Second World. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.

Hallas, D. (2008). The Comintern. Chicago, Ill.: Haymarket Books.

Lovell, J., & EBSCOhost. (2019). Maoism: A global history. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Ree, E., & EBSCOhost. (2015). Boundaries of Utopia: Imagining communism from Plato to Stalin (Routledge Contemporary Russia and Eastern Europe series; 63). Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge.

Harman, C., & ProQuest. (2017). The Lost Revolution: Germany 1918 to 1923 (International socialism series). Chicago: Haymarket Books.

Shubin, V. (2008). The hot "Cold War" the USSR in Southern Africa. London: Scottsville, South Africa: Pluto Press; University of KwaZulu-Natal Press.

Diamond, S., & International Congress of Anthropological Ethnological Sciences. (2011). Toward a Marxist Anthropology: Problems and Perspectives (Reprint 2011 ed., World Anthropology). Berlin; Boston: De Gruyter Mouton.

Pons, S., & Cameron, A. (2014). The Global Revolution: A history of international communism 1917-1991 (First ed., Oxford studies in modern European history). Oxford, England: Oxford University Press.

Sharpe, M., & Boucher, G. (2010). Zizek and Politics A Critical Introduction. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press.

Bates, Mackenzie, Sayers, McLellan, Mackenzie, Iain, Sayers, Sean (2015). Marxism, religion, and ideology: Themes from David McLellan (Routledge studies in social political thought; 104). New York: Routledge.

Donham, D., & NetLibrary, Inc. (1999). History, power, ideology: Central issues in Marxism and Anthropology. Berkeley, Calif.: University of California Press.