Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690570
visibleTabCount: 7
A Plan of the City and Harbor of Havana, Capital of the Island of Cuba (1760-1769) from the UM Cuban Map Collection
Table of Contents
Collection Description
This guide presents a selection of print and electronic resources in history available through the University of Miami Libraries and open access websites. Please contact Adrian Legaspi, History Liaison Librarian, for an individual research consultation or for more information about resources in history. The Libraries' collection supports a wide range of undergraduate and graduate courses in all areas of history.
The Florida, Cuban, and Caribbean regional holdings are quite distinctive. Other areas of strong interest include Latin America, Middle East, and European history. Additionally, social historical method is a notable strength of the department and is reflected in its acquisitions. The University Libraries’ also have an extensive repository of archival materials and special collections that chronicle the history of South Florida and the University of Miami.
The Libraries’ continue to collect as comprehensively as possible, in all areas of history. Currently, materials focusing on Asian and African history are being added to the collection. The language of the collection is primarily English however, several Spanish and Portuguese resources are also present.
The Florida, Cuban, and Caribbean regional holdings are quite distinctive. Other areas of strong interest include Latin America, Middle East, and European history. Additionally, social historical method is a notable strength of the department and is reflected in its acquisitions. The University Libraries’ also have an extensive repository of archival materials and special collections that chronicle the history of South Florida and the University of Miami.
The Libraries’ continue to collect as comprehensively as possible, in all areas of history. Currently, materials focusing on Asian and African history are being added to the collection. The language of the collection is primarily English however, several Spanish and Portuguese resources are also present.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Subject Specialist
Select Primary Sources
Ad*Access
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in the U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a tool for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives world wide.
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the 1900's.
UM Libraries Digital Collections
Provides online access to primary source materials to support teaching, learning, and research at the University and worldwide.
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in the U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a tool for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives world wide.
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the 1900's.
UM Libraries Digital Collections
Provides online access to primary source materials to support teaching, learning, and research at the University and worldwide.
Primary Versus Secondary Sources
The Libraries’ offer a wide collection of primary and secondary sources on a variety of topics designed to support your research interests. Primary sources are original documents (written or otherwise) produced during the time of the event such as art, newspapers, or maps. Secondary sources offer an interpretation or analysis of primary source materials and include articles, biographies, books, or textbooks.
Select Secondary Sources
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
Jstor
Jstor provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
ProQuest Research Library
provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
Jstor
Jstor provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
ProQuest Research Library
provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Databases
The Libraries’ have an extensive collection of databases designed to support your research and writing needs. Please contact Shatha Baydoun, History Liaison Librarian, for an individual research consultation or for more information about resources in history.
General Reference Resources
General Database Resources
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
General Citation Resources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Historical Coverage
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902
The Brooklyn Public Library has digitized the contents of the Booklyn Daily Eagle.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902
The Brooklyn Public Library has digitized the contents of the Booklyn Daily Eagle.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Newspapers
Newspaper articles are great sources for historical research. The Libraries’ has an extensive collection of newspapers and databases.
Front-page of The Miami Hurricane, April 02, 1948
Current Coverage
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Los Angeles Times (1996-Present)
This database provides access to the LA Times from 1996 to the present.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Los Angeles Times (1996-Present)
This database provides access to the LA Times from 1996 to the present.
Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Maps
The Libraries’ have access to map resources that can be used for historical projects and research. In addition, the Richter Library has unique geographic maps that highlight the topography of South Florida and the Miami region.
- Caribmap: A Cartographic History of Caribbean Islands: Maps of the Caribbean from 1507 through the present. Includes some modern topographic maps. You may zoom in and save your maps as images.
- David Rumsey Map Collection: Includes over 18,460 maps online. The collection focuses on rare C18th and C19th North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. The collection also has maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa.
- Florida Historical Aerials: The University of Florida Map & Imagery Library has over 100,000 photos of Florida going back to the 1930s with coverage extending through 1990. The Map Search will guide you to your area of interest and bring up the photos that cover your area through time.
- Old Maps Online: A collection of historical maps from all around the world.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas: Provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide.
- Sanborn Maps (United States): Provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. The resource is useful for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
- Worldmapper: A collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
A Plan of the City and Harbor of Havana, Capital of the Island of Cuba (1760-1769) from the UM Cuban Map Collection
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. - Gale In Context: U.S. History
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - Gale In Context: World History
Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
General Databases
- ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. - America: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada. - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. - Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies, a collaboration between Oxford University Press and the International Studies Association, promises to be the most compreshensive reference work of its kind in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia along with new ones to create a continuously updated source of information. - Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History
Updated monthly, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History provides substantive, peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of Latin American historical topics from 1492 to the current day.
Subject Specialist
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian