History of the Middle East subjectId: 690325

The University Libraries’ has an extensive collection of materials relating the study of the Middle East including the area referred to as the Levant (Palestine, Israel, Syria, and Lebanon), the Persian Gulf region (Saudi Arabia, Oman, Yemen, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, and the United Arab Emirate), and North Africa (Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, Sudan, and Tunisia). Taking a broader viewpoint, the collection also includes resources on the non-Arabic speaking parts of the Middle East such as Turkey, Israel, Iran, and Armenia.   

 The Caliphate in 750 (1926) by William R. Shepherd from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection




 

British Soldiers Posing on the Sphinx in Cairo (1890) from MidEast Image

 

• Encyclopaedia Iranica: A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
• Encyclopaedia Judaica: A comprehensive overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
• Encyclopedia of Islam: Articles on Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, and the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of various Islamic countries.
• Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa: Overview of the modern Middle East and North Africa.
• Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures: An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. 

• Academic Search Premier: A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals and more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Jerusalem Post (1932-2008): This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
• JSTOR: Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
• ProQuest Research Library: Provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject from 1971 forward.
• Social Sciences Citation Index: Provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences.  

• AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Asia and Middle East: Presents images and photographs from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) on Asia and the Middle East.
• JSTOR with Image Search: ARTstor images are now available via JSTOR image search. When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find Artstor's 3.2+ million licensed images and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
• MidEast Image: A collection of photographs and postcards from Syria, Lebanon, and Palestine dating from the C19th and C20th.
• The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL): Materials include classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as early works of photography in the Middle East region.