Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 60566
visibleTabCount: 7
Welcome
Welcome to the research guide for Global Public Health! This guide is a great tool for finding information for research, collecting articles for classes, and broadening your knowledge of Global Public Health. Each tab contains current and relevent resources for assisting you in collecting the best information for your project, interest, or research.
Subject Specialist
Book a Consultation
Book a consultation with me by clicking here!
1. Pick the day and time that is most covenient for you
2. Specify what you want our meeting to be about (i.e. research topic)
3. Wait for my follow up email
Ask a Librarian
Core Health and Biomedical Databases
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Embase
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database that provides over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conferences covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
Environmental Databases
Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts of the world's research literature in agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present. Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE)
CEE is an open community working towards a sustainable global environment and the conservation of biodiversity. It seeks to promote and deliver evidence syntheses on issues of greatest concern to environmental policy and practice as a public service.
Gender and Women's Issues Databases
Gender Watch
GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
UN Life-Course Gender Gap
From the UN Development Program, this dashboard contains 13 indicators that display gender gaps in choices and opportunities over the life course — childhood and youth, adulthood and older age.
Latin American & Caribbean Health Databases
Literatura Latinoamericana y del Caribe en Ciencias de Salud (LILACS)
Full text and indexed articles from Latin American peer-reviewed journals and theses and dissertations. Most abstracts in Spanish/English or Portuguese/English. Full text in Spanish or Portuguese.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
The international health agency (IHA) of the Americas and the Regional Office for the Americas at the WHO (It is the oldest IHA in the world and the first to promote health research and education).
Virtual Health Library Regional (VHL) Portal
Offers health information globally. Not restricted to only Latin America.
Social Sciences
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas i.e. international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an interdisciplinary Open Access database offering abstracts and full articles at various stages of publication, including Preprint, In Review, and completed Peer Review. Create a free account to share your own work, or just browse and download material.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
uSearch
Books for Global Public Health
2020
News & Reports
AllAfrica: "AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 1,500 news and information items daily from over 140 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. We operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Lagos, Monrovia, Nairobi and Washington DC."
Global Health Matters Newsletter: Produced every 2 months by the Fogarty International Center, NIH which is also listed in the International Organization tab in this guide.
Mail & Guardian: Launched in 1994, M&G was Africa's first online newspaper, and one of the first online newspapers in the world.
ReliefWeb: "ReliefWeb has been the leading source for reliable and timely humanitarian information on global crises and disasters since 1996."
Samachar: Samachar offers readers agregates news sources about the latest developments in India.
(News links from Cornell Global Health Guide)
Statistics & Data
INTERNATIONAL
CDC Centre for Global Health
CDC works with the WHO to promote public health and prevent infectious disease around the world. Many links to explore.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
A catalog to quickly find and share information about data and actual datasets for global health and demography.
Global Index Medicus - WHO
Provides global access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
IPUMS International
From around the world, IPUMS collects and preserves census microdata and documentation, harmonizes them. and disseminates free of charge.
NationalMaster - Global Trends, Stats, & Insights for Healthcare
Expenditures in health around the world.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
The international health agency (IHA) of the Americas and the Regional Office for the Americas at the WHO (t. (It is the oldest iha in the world and the first to promote health research & education.) Utilize the tabs on the upper right side of the screen to fully utilize this site.
(Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCED)
OCED helps countries achieve high-performing health systems by measuring health outcomes and using health system resources & analysis of policies that improve access, efficiency & quality of health care.
UN Data
Provides access to UN statistical databases through a single entry point.
UNICEF: Monitoring & Statistics
Links to statistics globally and by country.
NATIONAL
United States Census Bureau
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Statistics Database
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Open Access
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Lists Open Access quality controlled scientific & scholarly journals from around the world.
PLOS Global Public Health
Goal is to broaden the range and diversity of perspectives at the forefront of public health research and advance the health of all humankind.
PLOS One
A multi disciplinary open access journal which includes the social sciences, global health and medicine.
Grey Literature
WHO | World Health Organization
Plethora of information about status of global health is in this site. Use the links in the top blue bar to navigate this site.
World Health Organization (WHO): Nutrition
Includes many topics on child growth assessment and surveillance, nutrition in development and crisis, country-focused nutrition policies, micronutrient malnutrition, exploitive food marketing, and more. Scroll full length of page for all content.
eldis
Shares the best in development policy, practice and research. Content from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download.
Organizations
- Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Non profit organziaiton that works with organizations and governments worldwide to improve health in developing counties. - BIREME (Regional Library of Medicine | Latin Am.
Special center of the PAHO/WHO for technical cooperation in health scientific informaiton. Located in San Paulo, Brazil, it offers several online resources for Latin Am. and the Caribbean region, including the Virtual Health Library (VHL), the Latin Am.and Caribbean Health Science Literature (LILACS), PAHO Institutional Respository (IRIS), and more. - Carter Center
The Center, partnering with Emory University, works to advance human rights and alleviate human suffering. Founded in 1982 by former U.S. President Jimmy Carter and former First Lady Rosalynn Carter. - CDC | Center for Global Health (CGH)
While it works globally to protect the US from disease threats, CGH provides much information about health issues in several world regions. Explore the menu to the left of each page to fully explore this rich website, including its Resources link. - Global Citizen
With all of these sites, look around for the search function and then articles, publications, or research, etc. - Duke Global Health Institute
The Duke Global Health Institute works to reduce health disparities worldwide through research, education and service. Formed in 2006 ... the institute brings together knowledge and resources from across the university to address the most important global health issues of our time. - Fogarty International Center (FIC)
At the National Institutes of Health (NIH) FIC facilitates global health research conducted by international and US investigators and train the next generation of scientists to address global health needs. - Global Fund to Fight Aids, Tuberculosis and Malaria
Global public/private partnership dedicated to attracting and disbursing additional resources to prevent and treat HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria. Since founding in 2002 is main source of finance for programs to fight AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria. - Global Health
Provides policy guidance and coordination on refugee health policy issues, develops U.S. policy and strategy positions related to health issues and provides leadership and coordination for bilateral programs with selected countries. - Kaiser Global Health Gateway
Online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. - United Nations Development Programme
Global development network helps developing countries attract and use aid effectively. In all activities, encourages protection of human rights and empowerment of women. - OECD Health (Organization for Economic Cop-operation and Development
With governments, policy makers and citizens, OCED establishes evidence-based international standards and solution to social, economic, heatlh, and environmental challenges. Provides good data resources.
WHO Regional Offices and Organizations
Exhibits and Digital Libraries
- Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
An online exhibit from Harvard University Libraries' Open Collections Program, it tracks several outbreaks of contagious diseases using primary documentation. Highly recommended for its historical focus.
A Librarian