Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 11183
visibleTabCount: 3
On Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, you will find a list of terms and how they are used in government.
FDLP - UM Libraries
The University of Miami Libraries has been a selective depository library for the U.S. Government since 1939.
The collections span all subjects and many formats, including pamphlets, maps, periodicals and electronic and print monographs. The Depository Library Program went digital in 2024 so all newer materials are available online.
These materials are open and accessible to the community through uSearch. Type in your search terms and then limit your results to Resource Type: Government Documents using the filters in the left column.
Core Government Information Databases
GovInfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
CIA World Factbook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
Digital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Military & Government Collection
Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
ProQuest Congressional
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.
The official web portal of the United States federal government. It is designed to improve the public's interaction with the US government by quickly directing website visitors to the services or information they are seeking, and by inviting the public to share ideas to improve government.
Subject Specialist
FDLP Resource Guides
Are you not finding what you need? The government has also produced resource guides on many different topics.
Then and Now Experiences of Blacks and African Americans
Military History: American Conflicts and Wars
See complete list of guides...
"The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information. Since 1813, depository libraries have safeguarded the public's right to know by collecting, organizing, maintaining, preserving, and assisting users with information from the Federal Government. The FDLP provides Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries throughout the country and territories. These depository libraries, in turn, provide local, no-fee access to Government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance." (from FDLP)
Foreign Relations of the United States
- Foreign Relations of the United States, 1945-1976
From the United States Department of State. - Foreign Relations of the United States - UW Madison
Ben's Glossary
On Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, you will find a list of terms and how they are used in government.
Databases of Government Information
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists. Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments; International governments and institutions; Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
NTIS
NTIS is an index of tech reports from US and international government agencies.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The NCJRS, a federally sponsored information clearinghouse, provides access to the world's largest law enforcement and criminal justice database.
The U.S. National Science Foundation is an independent federal agency that supports science and engineering in all 50 states and U.S. territories.NSF was established in 1950 by Congress to promote the progress of science, advance the national health, prosperity and welfare, and secure the national defense.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the most authoritative service providing current and historical data about the people and economy of the United States. The site also contains international country data, and links to other quality data sites and statistical gateways.
USPTO Web Patent Databases
The US Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) provides Web access to (1) the full-text of US patents (1976 to present); (2) a bibliographic patent database, and (3) the full-text of selected AIDS patents (US, Japan, Europe).
Need more help?
Databases
These are the two major databases for declassfied documents.
- Digital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Declassified Documents & Other Secrets
The following are other resources for declassfied documents.
A Librarian