Fill out the form to request an instructional session for your FYD course. We require a minimum of two weeks' notice for scheduling sessions, due to the high demand.
Request an appointment with a Peer Research Consultant!
Do you have an upcoming research assignment or paper due? Meet with one of our Peer Research Consultants for more research support! Fill out the form to request a consultation.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
ERIC(Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
Circulation Desk: The place in the library where you check out, renew, and return library materials and ask any questions about using library materials.
Boolean Operators: A search technique that uses tools called operators and modifiers to limit, widen, and refine your search results.
Call Number: A group of letters and/or numbers that identifies specific items in a library and provides a way for organizing library holdings. UM Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification.
Catalog: A database listing and describing the books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. Various search terms allow you to look for items in the catalog.
Chat: The ability to communicate with others, computer to computer, via typed messages. UM Libraries uses Ask a Librarian chat. It is a live chat with Peer Research Consultant that can help you with questions about the library and research.
Citation: A reference to a book, magazine or journal article, or other work containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work.
Course Reserve: A selection of books, articles, videotapes, or other materials that instructors want students to read or view for a particular course. Course reserves are housed behind the Access Services Desk at Richter Library and circulate for only a short period of time.
Database: A searchable collection of information (such as articles) stored on a digital platform
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): A service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries through your own library.
Journal: "A publication, issued on a regular basis, which contains scholarly research published as articles, papers, research reports, or technical reports.
Keyword: A significant term or word used in a search of a catalog or database. Can be found in the title, abstract, or text of an information resource that indicates its subject.
Peer Reviewed Journal: "Peer review is a process by which editors have experts in a field review books or articles submitted for publication by the experts’ peers. Peer review helps to ensure the quality of an information source by publishing only works of proven validity, methodology, and quality. Peer-reviewed journals are also called refereed or scholarly journals."
Periodical: An information source published in multiple parts at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, biannually). Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals.
Stacks: Shelves in the library where materials—typically books—are stored. Books in the stacks are normally arranged by call number.
uSearch: Is our online library discovery tool that allows you to search everything from the Univeristy Libraries. This includes searching our physical collection, databases we subscribe to, our digital collection, and course reserves.
A Librarian