English Literature subjectId: 9456

• Department of English
• University of Miami Writing Center
• Center for the Humanities

• MLA International Bibliography
  The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
• Literature Resource Center
  Literature Resource Center is a current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. What you'll find in Literature Resource Center is: Full-text scholarly articles from more than 300 academic journals and literary magazinesthe majority peer-reviewedas well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception. Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines. Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics. Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors. New and updated material is added daily.
• Literature Criticism Online
  A database of ten encyclopedias of literary criticism. Centuries of analysis of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
  Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed.Essay and General Literature Index also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
• Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
  Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
• Gale Literary Sources
  A cross-search platform of all Gale literary sources that provides a seamless research experience that helps researchers of all levels find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. Users will be able to cross-search a wealth of primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis and biographies.The following collections are available within Gale Literary Sources: Contemporary Authors Online Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online Literature Resource Center Literature Criticism Online LitFinder

• Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature(ABELL)
  A component of Literature Online, ABELL indexes critical materials on English language literature from journals, critical editions, book reviews and more, and is an invaluable complement to MLA
• Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
  The definitive source in English for locating poetry in anthologies. Contains 450,000 poetry citations, and 250,000 poems in full text. Includes scholarly commentary on poems and poets; biographical and bibliographical information, and a glossary of poetic terms.
• Early English Books Online
  Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains more than 130,000 titles and more than 17 million scanned pages as listed in 4 collections - Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies.
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
  Eighteenth Century Collections Online Parts I and 2 combined now contain over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes), adding to the depth of 18th century research. The titles cover the same subjects areas as the original collection, with a special emphasis on Literature, Social Science and Religion titles. The Collection includes materials such as books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.Content includes works by lesser known authors and complete works by twenty-eight major authors including Alexander Pope, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Paine, and Henry Fielding. Content also includes significant women writers, collections about the French Revolution, numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare, and multiple editions of individual works. The second edition includes nearly 50,000 titles and 7 million pages from the library holdings of world-renowned institutions such as the British Library, Bodleian, Cambridge, National Library of Scotland and the Ransom Center at the University of Texas.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  The Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
• World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
  A searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960.

• Video Library Tutorials

• 19th Century British Library Newspapers
  Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers, taken directly from the holdings of the British Library. The content includes 48 titles, totaling approximately 2.2 million pages, selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
  Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, including full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
  19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of Australia, and many other sources, to make available digitized versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.
• American Periodicals Series
  American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900). Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
• ArchiveGrid
  ArchiveGrid is a tool for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
• British Literary Manuscripts Online
  Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. Includes: "British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance" & "British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900"
• Early English Books Online
  Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains more than 130,000 titles and more than 17 million scanned pages as listed in 4 collections - Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies.
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
  Eighteenth Century Collections Online Parts I and 2 combined now contain over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes), adding to the depth of 18th century research. The titles cover the same subjects areas as the original collection, with a special emphasis on Literature, Social Science and Religion titles. The Collection includes materials such as books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.Content includes works by lesser known authors and complete works by twenty-eight major authors including Alexander Pope, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Paine, and Henry Fielding. Content also includes significant women writers, collections about the French Revolution, numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare, and multiple editions of individual works. The second edition includes nearly 50,000 titles and 7 million pages from the library holdings of world-renowned institutions such as the British Library, Bodleian, Cambridge, National Library of Scotland and the Ransom Center at the University of Texas.
• Gale: Primary Sources
  An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all Gale primary source collections.The following collections are currently available within Gale Primary Sources:19th Century UK PeriodicalsArchives UnboundArchives of Sexuality & GenderBritish Library NewspapersThe Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThe Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926The Making of the Modern WorldNineteenth Century Collections OnlineNineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersSabin Americana, 1500-1926The Sunday Times Digital ArchiveThe Telegraph Historical ArchiveThe Times Digital ArchiveTimes Literary Supplement Historical Archive
• Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
  Compiled by the Perdita Project, Perdita Manuscripts is a collection of digital facsimilies of the manuscripts of early modern women authors.
• Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project
  A collaboration between the Centre for Manuscript Genetics (University of Antwerp), the Beckett International Foundation (University of Reading) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center (University of Texas at Austin). Consists of a digital archive of Samuel Beckett's manuscripts organized in 26 modules, and a series of 26 volumes analyzing the genesis of the texts contained in the corresponding modules.
• Women Writers Online
  Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early womens writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

Reach out to our Digital Scholarship team for resources, training, and consultation services regarding all manner of DH projects.  Find more information on the Data Services homepage or browse the list of experts to schedule a consultation.

 DH Commons

DH Commons is a forum for scholars to collaborate and individuals to gain access to otherwise remote materials.

• MLA International Bibliography
  The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
• ProQuest Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

• Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
  The definitive source in English for locating poetry in anthologies. Contains 450,000 poetry citations, and 250,000 poems in full text. Includes scholarly commentary on poems and poets; biographical and bibliographical information, and a glossary of poetic terms.
• Gale Literary Index
  Author/title index to Gale reference publications including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. It combines and cross-references more than 137,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 173,000 titles into one source.
• Literature Online Reference Library
  Find an online library of essential literary dictionaries and encyclopedias.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  The Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

• Literature Criticism Online
  A database of ten encyclopedias of literary criticism. Centuries of analysis of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
• Literature Resource Center
  Literature Resource Center is a current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. What you'll find in Literature Resource Center is: Full-text scholarly articles from more than 300 academic journals and literary magazinesthe majority peer-reviewedas well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception. Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines. Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics. Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors. New and updated material is added daily.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• ProQuest Literature Online
  Good coverage of literary criticism. Cross-search the MLA Bibliography and ABELL, with articles from full-text journals.

• American Literature Association
• BBC British Novelists Archive Collection
• Gabriel Garcia Marquez Online Archive
• James Joyce on the Internet
• Modern Language Association
• New York Public Library Digital Gallery
• Poets.org
• Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, and Publishing
• Shakespeare Census
• NeuRoN: Digital Resources for Researching British Romanticism

• American Memory: Library of Congress
• Digital Literary Atlas of Ireland 1922-1949
• Documenting the American South
• Victorian Web
• Blake Archive
• Romantic Circles
• Walt Whitman Archive

• RefWorks
  Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
• EndNote
  Students, faculty and staff download from the University of Miami Technology Center.
• Mendeley
  Mendeley is a reference and pdf manager with collaboration tools and an online social network that allows you to discover and share research. It has both online and desktop components.
• Zotero
  Free Firefox extension for collecting, managing and citing your sources.

• Accessing RefWorks, Creating an Account, and Logging In
  
• EndNote Tutorials
  
• Mendeley Videos & Tutorials
  
• Video Tutorials (Zotero)
  This link will take you to Zotero's Video Tutorials page, where you can learn more about its features.