Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690337
dissertation
A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).
thesis
A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Welcome
Hello and welcome to the Engineering Research Guide! You will find information on how to get started with your research along with available resources at the University of Miami Libraries and beyond. Click on the different tabs at the top of the guide to learn more on each topic. If you also need to do some research in another STEM subject check out my other guides under Related Subject Guides. If you have any questions or comments please contact me.
Need help?
Related Subject Guides
Professional Organizations
- American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers
- Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
- National Society of Professional Engineers
- National Society of Black Engineers
- Society of Asian Scientists & Engineers
- Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers
- Search: Society of Women Engineers
Databases
Web of Science |
Published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus |
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, abstract records, web resources, and patents, author homepages, university sites, pre-print servers (including CogPrints and ArXiv.org), and many other OAI compliant resources.
Engineering Village |
(includes Compendex, Inspec Archive, NTIS, and Knovel)
Covers a variety of scholarly publications in several of science and engineering databases.
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings.
SPIE Digital Library |
Includes resource on optics and photonics. SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
Science Direct |
A full-text database full-text journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier
SciFinder |
A research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences
Note: Users must create an individual SciFinder account before using this resource. Click here to create an individual account. Users must accept and follow all SciFinder Terms and Conditions.
Scitation |
formerly OJPS (Online Journal Publishing Service)
The database provides the full-text of selected research journals in physics, engineering, and mathematics
INSPIRE |
(formerly SPIRES)
Combines database content and e-prints curated at DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN.
Internation Nuclear Information System (INIS) Repository |
Contains bibliographic records and full-text nonconventional documents consisting of scientific and technical reports and other noncopyrighted information. Materials cover scientific and technical literature on a range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health, and industry.
Astrophysics Data Center (ADS) |
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), that maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints
Review of Particle Physics |
The Particle Data Group (PDG) is an international collaboration that provides a comprehensive summary of Particle Physics and related areas of Cosmology: the Review of Particle Physics.
CERN Document Server |
The institutional repository that provides acquisition, search and collaborative tools to manage collections of documents produced at CERN including articles, pre-prints, multimedia, presentations, proceedings, and books
Google Scholar |
Indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature from many subjects
Published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus |
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, abstract records, web resources, and patents, author homepages, university sites, pre-print servers (including CogPrints and ArXiv.org), and many other OAI compliant resources.
Engineering Village |
(includes Compendex, Inspec Archive, NTIS, and Knovel)
Covers a variety of scholarly publications in several of science and engineering databases.
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings.
SPIE Digital Library |
Includes resource on optics and photonics. SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
Science Direct |
A full-text database full-text journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier
SciFinder |
A research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences
Note: Users must create an individual SciFinder account before using this resource. Click here to create an individual account. Users must accept and follow all SciFinder Terms and Conditions.
Scitation |
formerly OJPS (Online Journal Publishing Service)
The database provides the full-text of selected research journals in physics, engineering, and mathematics
INSPIRE |
(formerly SPIRES)
Combines database content and e-prints curated at DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN.
Internation Nuclear Information System (INIS) Repository |
Contains bibliographic records and full-text nonconventional documents consisting of scientific and technical reports and other noncopyrighted information. Materials cover scientific and technical literature on a range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health, and industry.
Astrophysics Data Center (ADS) |
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), that maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints
Review of Particle Physics |
The Particle Data Group (PDG) is an international collaboration that provides a comprehensive summary of Particle Physics and related areas of Cosmology: the Review of Particle Physics.
CERN Document Server |
The institutional repository that provides acquisition, search and collaborative tools to manage collections of documents produced at CERN including articles, pre-prints, multimedia, presentations, proceedings, and books
Google Scholar |
Indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature from many subjects
Spotlight Resource
SciELO |
E-print a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of the Global South and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.
E-print a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of the Global South and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.
UM Library Catalog
Resource not in the UM Catalog?
Definitions
peer-reviewed
Requires an article to be subjected to a process of critical evaluation by one or more experts on the subject, known as referees, responsible for determining if the subject of the article falls within the scope of the publication and for evaluating originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. Changes may be suggested to the author(s) before an article is finally accepted for publication. Some bibliographic databases allow search results to be limited to peer-reviewed journals. Synonymous with juried and refereed.
preprint
A portion of a work printed and distributed for a special purpose in advance of the publication date announced for the whole, for example, an article to be published in a periodical or a work selected for inclusion in an anthology or collection. Also, a paper prepared for presentation at a conference, printed in multiple copies in advance of the conference date, usually for distribution to participants and other interested persons.
scholarly article
Written by experts in their field written for scholars. Articles use scholarly language with reliable evidence claims.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz and "LibGuides: What is a Scholarly Article and How Do I Find One?: The Basics of Academic/Scholarly Resources" by William Cuthbertson)
Requires an article to be subjected to a process of critical evaluation by one or more experts on the subject, known as referees, responsible for determining if the subject of the article falls within the scope of the publication and for evaluating originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. Changes may be suggested to the author(s) before an article is finally accepted for publication. Some bibliographic databases allow search results to be limited to peer-reviewed journals. Synonymous with juried and refereed.
preprint
A portion of a work printed and distributed for a special purpose in advance of the publication date announced for the whole, for example, an article to be published in a periodical or a work selected for inclusion in an anthology or collection. Also, a paper prepared for presentation at a conference, printed in multiple copies in advance of the conference date, usually for distribution to participants and other interested persons.
scholarly article
Written by experts in their field written for scholars. Articles use scholarly language with reliable evidence claims.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz and "LibGuides: What is a Scholarly Article and How Do I Find One?: The Basics of Academic/Scholarly Resources" by William Cuthbertson)
eBooks
eBook Central Proquest |
eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) |
eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources across many disciplines.
Research Methods (Sage) |
Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
Wiley Online Library |
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources.
eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) |
eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources across many disciplines.
Research Methods (Sage) |
Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
Wiley Online Library |
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources.
Reference
Below is a list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Access Science |
Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. CRC Press Handbook of Chemistry and Physics |
Broad coverage of science, technology, and medical resources.
Dover |
Popular publisher covering a broad range of subjects.
Online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries, and datasets covering the full range of engineering and science discipline.
Oxford Reference |
Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines. Proquest eBook Central |
Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Synthesis |
An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field.
Wiley Online Library |
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Access Science |
Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. CRC Press Handbook of Chemistry and Physics |
Broad coverage of science, technology, and medical resources.
Dover |
Popular publisher covering a broad range of subjects.
- Mathematical Tools for Physics by James Nearing (pdf version of the print handbook)
Online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries, and datasets covering the full range of engineering and science discipline.
Oxford Reference |
Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines. Proquest eBook Central |
Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Synthesis |
An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field.
Wiley Online Library |
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
UM Library Catalog
Resource not in the UM Catalog?
Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global |
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. UM Scholary Repository |
Selected research and scholarly works prepared by UM faculty, students, and staff.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) |
International organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
PhdData - Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress |
Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations |
An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) |
Searchable international database of open access institutional repositories.
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. UM Scholary Repository |
Selected research and scholarly works prepared by UM faculty, students, and staff.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) |
International organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
PhdData - Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress |
Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations |
An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) |
Searchable international database of open access institutional repositories.
UM Library Catalog
Resource not in the UM Catalog?
Definitions
dissertation
A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).
thesis
A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Search Standards
ASSIST |
The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense.
ASTM Compass |
ASTM Compass is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference Portal |
"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options."
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings. Also includes current IEEE standards.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) |
Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life." Portfolio of services for measurements, standards, and legal metrology provide solutions that ensure measurement traceability, enable quality assurance, and harmonize documentary standards and regulatory practices. Science laboratory and non-regulatory agency in the U.S. Department of Commerce.
The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense.
ASTM Compass |
ASTM Compass is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference Portal |
"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options."
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings. Also includes current IEEE standards.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) |
Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life." Portfolio of services for measurements, standards, and legal metrology provide solutions that ensure measurement traceability, enable quality assurance, and harmonize documentary standards and regulatory practices. Science laboratory and non-regulatory agency in the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Standard not available?
Search the following webstores for standards available for purchase:
Purchase requests require the user to email the librarian with:
Note: All purchase request are subject to extensive review and evaulation.
- Name of the publishing organization (i.e the SDO - Standards Developing Organization)
- Standard number
- Standard title
- Associated academic field/subject (e.g. electric engineering, chemistry).
Note: All purchase request are subject to extensive review and evaulation.
Definitions
de facto standard
A criterion or consistent manner of doing something, so established in practice that adherence is widespread if not universal, although its status has never been formalized. Such standards are often the result of one method or product becoming so dominant in the market place that its influence is comparable to that of a formally established standard.
de jure standard
A criterion or consistent manner of doing something, formally established in a deliberative process involving one or more professional organizations or industry groups, a government body, or a recognized standard-setting organization. Compliance is not compulsory, but may be made so by national regulations.
gray literature
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
standard
A specification that identifies model methods, materials, qualities, or practices that meet an acceptable level or criterion, fixed by usage or convention or established as the norm by prevailing authority, to which something is compared, measured, or judged. A standard approved by a formal ANSI-accredited standards body, such as NISO, is a de jure standard. A de facto standard is one that becomes generally accepted without the formal endorsement of a standard-setting organization. A community standard is a de facto standard developed and used within a particular user group.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
A criterion or consistent manner of doing something, so established in practice that adherence is widespread if not universal, although its status has never been formalized. Such standards are often the result of one method or product becoming so dominant in the market place that its influence is comparable to that of a formally established standard.
de jure standard
A criterion or consistent manner of doing something, formally established in a deliberative process involving one or more professional organizations or industry groups, a government body, or a recognized standard-setting organization. Compliance is not compulsory, but may be made so by national regulations.
gray literature
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
standard
A specification that identifies model methods, materials, qualities, or practices that meet an acceptable level or criterion, fixed by usage or convention or established as the norm by prevailing authority, to which something is compared, measured, or judged. A standard approved by a formal ANSI-accredited standards body, such as NISO, is a de jure standard. A de facto standard is one that becomes generally accepted without the formal endorsement of a standard-setting organization. A community standard is a de facto standard developed and used within a particular user group.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Technical Reports
Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) - Center for Research Libraries |
Mission: "To ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format."
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) |
Mission: "Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence."
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency |
Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - U.S. Department of Defense |
Mission: "To aggregate and fuse science and technology data to rapidly, accurately and reliably deliver the knowledge needed to develop the next generation of technologies to support our Warfighters and help assure national security."
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) |
Provides access to aerospace-related scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency |
Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy |
Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide. Specialized search tools within OSTI:
Mission: "To ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format."
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) |
Mission: "Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence."
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency |
Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - U.S. Department of Defense |
Mission: "To aggregate and fuse science and technology data to rapidly, accurately and reliably deliver the knowledge needed to develop the next generation of technologies to support our Warfighters and help assure national security."
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) |
Provides access to aerospace-related scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency |
Search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy |
Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide. Specialized search tools within OSTI:
- Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science (PAGES) - Scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE-funded research
- DOE Data Explorer - Scientific research data resulting from DOE-funded research
- DOE Code - Open source, submission and search tool for DOE-funded software
- DOE Patents - Patents resulting from DOE-funded research
- ScienceCinema - Scientific videos featuring DOE-funded research
- Science.gov - Interagency initiative of science organizations at 15 U.S. federal agencies which searches of over 200 million pages of scientific and technical information with just one query
- WorldWideScience.org - International gateway to approximately 100 national science collections from more than 70 participating nations
UM Library Catalog
Resource not in the UM Catalog?
Definitions
gray literature
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
technical reports
A scientific paper or article describing research or other significant developments in a field of the applied sciences.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
technical reports
A scientific paper or article describing research or other significant developments in a field of the applied sciences.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Data
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3Data.org)
An international registry of research data repositories.
Dataverse Project
An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
Quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories.
FigShare
Allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow.
Zendo
Part of the OpenAIRE project, Zendo is a CERN-hosted repository for researchers, scientists, EU projects and institutions to share, preserve and showcase multidisciplinary research results (data and publications) that are not part of the existing institutional or subject-based repositories of the research communities.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life." Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC)
Mission: "The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data."
An international registry of research data repositories.
Dataverse Project
An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
- Harvard Dataverse: Engineering
- DataverseNL: Engineering (11 Dutch Universities)
Quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories.
FigShare
Allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow.
Zendo
Part of the OpenAIRE project, Zendo is a CERN-hosted repository for researchers, scientists, EU projects and institutions to share, preserve and showcase multidisciplinary research results (data and publications) that are not part of the existing institutional or subject-based repositories of the research communities.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Mission: "To promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life." Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC)
Mission: "The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data."
UM Scholarly Repository
Selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami
Apps & Software
DMPTool
Create unique data management plans or use templates for data management plans that are based on funder policy documents that meet institutional and funder (e.g. NSF, NIH, DOE) requirements.
Create unique data management plans or use templates for data management plans that are based on funder policy documents that meet institutional and funder (e.g. NSF, NIH, DOE) requirements.
Library Specialists
Email: criopelle@miami.edu
Call: 305.284.3257
Call: 305.284.3257
Conference Proceedings
Conference Proceeding Citation Index - Science (Web of Science) |
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on science conferences based on conference titles, sponsors, locations, dates, article titles, authors, author addresses, publisher names and publishers addresses, series titles, book titles, ISSN numbers, and ISBN numbers.
SPIE Digital Library |
Includes resource on optics and photonics. SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. Specialized search tools:
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings.
Engineering Village |
(includes Compendex, Inspec Archive, NTIS, and Knovel)
Covers a variety of scholarly publications in several of science and engineering databases.
AIP Conference Proceedings |
Reports the findings presented at scientific meetings, conferences, and workshops coving subject including physical sciences, physics, math, chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy |
Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide. Specialized search tools within OSTI:
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on science conferences based on conference titles, sponsors, locations, dates, article titles, authors, author addresses, publisher names and publishers addresses, series titles, book titles, ISSN numbers, and ISBN numbers.
SPIE Digital Library |
Includes resource on optics and photonics. SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. Specialized search tools:
IEEE Xplore |
A full-text collection of IEEE and IEEE-associated journals and conference proceedings.
Engineering Village |
(includes Compendex, Inspec Archive, NTIS, and Knovel)
Covers a variety of scholarly publications in several of science and engineering databases.
AIP Conference Proceedings |
Reports the findings presented at scientific meetings, conferences, and workshops coving subject including physical sciences, physics, math, chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) - U.S. Department of Energy |
Collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from government-funded research and development activities at the Department of Energy's national laboratories, scientific facilities, universities, and other institutions nationwide. Specialized search tools within OSTI:
- Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science (PAGES) - Scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE-funded research
- DOE Data Explorer - Scientific research data resulting from DOE-funded research
- DOE Code - Open source, submission and search tool for DOE-funded software
- DOE Patents - Patents resulting from DOE-funded research
- ScienceCinema - Scientific videos featuring DOE-funded research
- Science.gov - Interagency initiative of science organizations at 15 U.S. federal agencies which searches of over 200 million pages of scientific and technical information with just one query
- WorldWideScience.org - International gateway to approximately 100 national science collections from more than 70 participating nations
UM Library Catalog
Resource not in the UM Catalog?
Definitions
conference papers
An original paper at a formal gathering of peers, usually at the invitation of the group or organization sponsoring the conference, which may be subsequently published in its proceedings. In the sciences, ground-breaking research results are often publicly introduced in such presentations. The term can also apply to papers presented at meetings or symposia.
conference proceedings
The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association, usually but not necessarily including abstracts or reports of papers presented by the participants. When the entire text of the papers presented is included, the result is called transactions. The term is also used in the titles of journals published by long-established scholarly societies, for example, the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).
gray literature
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
An original paper at a formal gathering of peers, usually at the invitation of the group or organization sponsoring the conference, which may be subsequently published in its proceedings. In the sciences, ground-breaking research results are often publicly introduced in such presentations. The term can also apply to papers presented at meetings or symposia.
conference proceedings
The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association, usually but not necessarily including abstracts or reports of papers presented by the participants. When the entire text of the papers presented is included, the result is called transactions. The term is also used in the titles of journals published by long-established scholarly societies, for example, the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).
gray literature
Also spelled grey literature. Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature not readily available through regular market channels because it was never commercially published/listed or was not widely distributed. In the United States, the gray literature of science and technology is indexed in the NTIS database. Theses and dissertations are indexed and abstracted in Dissertation Abstracts International and are available in hard copy via Dissertation Express. Related to ephemera, semi-published, and fugitive materials.
(definitions adapted from the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz)
Search Patents
Lens
Great search functionality and options. Covers many international patent databases and jurisdictions. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Repository for the intellectual property of United Nation members. Google Patents
Familiar user interface. Good for browsing or if you know the exact patent number.
Free Patents Online (FPO)
Another popular global patent search engine.
National Patent Databases
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Official patent repository of the United State. Search functionality feels and looks dated, but it is the most up-date database available.
Japanese patent repository.
esp@cenet
Euproean pantent search engine.
Great search functionality and options. Covers many international patent databases and jurisdictions. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Repository for the intellectual property of United Nation members. Google Patents
Familiar user interface. Good for browsing or if you know the exact patent number.
Free Patents Online (FPO)
Another popular global patent search engine.
National Patent Databases
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Official patent repository of the United State. Search functionality feels and looks dated, but it is the most up-date database available.
- PatFT - Patent Full-Text and Image Database
- AppFT - Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (for patent applications awaiting approval
Japanese patent repository.
esp@cenet
Euproean pantent search engine.
Videos
Research Methods (Sage) |
Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
Journal of Visual Experiments (JoVE) |
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal with subscribed content.
LinkedIn Learning |
Massive online course and video tutorial website covering a variety of software, creative, and business skill.
Nasa Technical Reports Server |
Massive collection of videos and multimedia from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration covering a varity of engineering, physics, aerospace, and technology topics.
Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
Journal of Visual Experiments (JoVE) |
Peer-reviewed scientific video journal with subscribed content.
LinkedIn Learning |
Massive online course and video tutorial website covering a variety of software, creative, and business skill.
Nasa Technical Reports Server |
Massive collection of videos and multimedia from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration covering a varity of engineering, physics, aerospace, and technology topics.
A Librarian