University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

ENG 107: English Comp II (Sanchez-Garcia)

Find books and ebooks here!

Use APA Citation

Here is a good resource to learn how to properly format your citations in APA:
Purdue OWL - APA Guide

Databases to Explore

Here are some databases that might be helpful to explore in addition to uSearch:
  • Web of Science Citation Indexes
    Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
  • SCOPUS
    Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
  • STEM Database (ProQuest)
    Comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines, these publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.
  • Engineering Village
    Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.

Looking for Data

If you need some facts and figures to support your assignments, try looking here in addition to your scholarly journal articles:
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Your Librarian

Survey \(^_^)/

Please Respond
(less than 2 minutes)