University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

ENG 106: Into the Wild

Quick Help List

Find the library website Find the Richter stacks
  • Go to the second floor of Richter Library
  • If you take the elevator, turn right when you get off
  • If you take the stairs, walk to the elevators and take a left
  • Walk past the microforms cabinets and the bound journals; the stacks elevators will be on your right
Get research assistance
  • Go to the 1st floor Research & Assistance Desk OR
  • Go to the libraries website
 

Welcome!

Hello and welcome to the English 106 Research Guide!  This guide is intended to help you with English 106 and to provide a jumping-off point for your research.

If you have any questions, feel free to send me an email!

Databases

  • Gale In Context: Biography
    Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • PhilPapers : Philosophical Research Online
    PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. 
  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.

Subject Specialist

Library Catalog: Find Print Books

Finding Books

Visit the library catalog, which is linked of the Libraries website: Library Catalog
The search tab labeled “Catalog” will search the library catalog. Enter your keywords and go!
            Finding books on a topic
            To find books on a particular topic, you should perform a KEYWORD search
                        Sample search terms include:
                        “global warming” and biofuels
                        “stem cells”
                        Autism and (vaccine* or immuniz*)
 Hints: put phrases in double quotations; use an asterisk to truncate a term—organiz* will search for organize, organizing, and organization.
            Finding books by an author
            To find books written by a particular author, you should perform an AUTHOR search
                        Sample search terms include:
                        Hemingway Ernest
                        Homer 
 
REMEMBER: The library catalog does not contain journal articles. Rather, it can tell you whether or not we have a print or electronic subscription to a particular journal. To look for specific articles if you already have a citation, go to the Citation Linker, available on the How to: Find an article from a citation tab.

Databases

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Gale In Context: Biography
    Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.

Subject Specialist

Understanding (dot) Endings

What do those endings mean?

.gov : If you find a .gov website online, chances are, this is a good resource with legitimate information. .gov means that's a government website, operated by the government. Some examples are: www.whitehouse.gov, www.census.gov, or www.nutrition.gov


.edu : If you find a .edu website online, chances are, this is a good resource with legitimate information. .edu means it's the website of a university or college. Take a look at pages owned by the University of Miami! See the .edu ending? It means we're legit. Some examples are: www.miami.edu, www.harvard.edu, or www.berkeley.edu

.org : If you find an .org website online - proceed with caution. There are some great .org's out there, but some shady ones too. ".org" means the owner of the website is usually an organization of some kind. Some organizations are legitimate, others not so much. Here are some real .org's to serve as an example: www.now.org, www.ymcamiami.org, and www.miamichildrensmuseum.org/.

.com : If you find a .com website online - proceed with high caution. There are some great .com's out there, but a lot of shady ones too, and many .com's are NOT professional or scholarly in origin. Some .com's might be run by people, groups, businesses or organizations that are legitimate. Others are just run by people who have their own agenda or may just be trying to sell you something. Always think twice before using a .com for research.

Text written by Lauren Fralinger; adapted from the Evaluating Resources Guide at Valparaiso University

Evaluating Articles

The CABLE Method

Currency (When?)
When was the article published? If the article is on a website, when was the page last updated? Are links to other sites still active?

Authority (Who?)
Who wrote the article? What are the credentials of the author? How can I find out more about the author?

Bias (Why?)
What is the purpose of the periodical? What does the author say is the purpose of the article? Is the article objective or is only one point of view presented?

Level (What?)
How useful is this information for your purpose? Does it cover your subject in enough depth? Do you feel comfortable citing this article in a college-level assignment?

Explore (Where?)
Where does the article's information come from? Is it scholarly or popular? Can you verify the information in the article? Are there references or links to other sites?

Adapted from: The Library Instruction Cookbook "CABLE Cook-off: Learning to Evaluate Web Sites" (90-91)

Subject Specialist

Citing Government Information

 
Arizona State University Libraries: DocsCite
Columbia University Libraries: Citing Government Documents

Subject Specialist

Interlibrary Loan

What happens if an article or book I want is not available online or in print?

When this occurs, you may use the interlibrary loan (Illiad) service to obtain the journal article or book. The Illiad service is a free service that allows UM students to obtain articles and books that the library does not own. To create an account and request materials, go to the following website: https://triton.library.miami.edu

Once the UM Libraries obtains the article or book you will be sent an email notification and with a link to the article or letting you know that the book is ready for pick up at the circulation desk.

If you have any problems or questions, contact InterLibrary Loan, (305) 284-6102.