University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

ENG 106: Relationships in the Digital Age

Evaluating Articles

The CABLE Method

Currency (When?)
When was the article published? If the article is on a website, when was the page last updated? Are links to other sites still active?

Authority (Who?)
Who wrote the article? What are the credentials of the author? How can I find out more about the author?

Bias (Why?)
What is the purpose of the periodical? What does the author say is the purpose of the article? Is the article objective or is only one point of view presented?

Level (What?)
How useful is this information for your purpose? Does it cover your subject in enough depth? Do you feel comfortable citing this article in a college-level assignment?

Explore (Where?)
Where does the article's information come from? Is it scholarly or popular? Can you verify the information in the article? Are there references or links to other sites?

Adapted from: The Library Instruction Cookbook "CABLE Cook-off: Learning to Evaluate Web Sites" (90-91)

Main Databases

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

Find books and more!

Your Librarian

Government Information on Bullying

StopBullying.gov

StopBullying.gov is a website that provides information from various government agencies regarding all aspects of bullying. Here you will find definitions, data on bullying trends, cyberbullying, and who is at risk.

Bullying: Medline Plus

Medline Plus is a government website that provides information on various health related topics. Medline Plus aggregates information from various government agencies. This resource is directly linked to data regarding bullying.