Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690192
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Ecuador
Quito
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY ECUADOR in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
What Would Darwin Think: Man vs. Nature in the Galapagos (Streaming)
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República del Ecuador (Republic of Ecuador)
Capital city: Quito
National language: Spanish
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Log on here!
The Rough Guide to Ecuador
Quito (Moon Spotlight)
GalaÌpagos Islands (Moon)
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Pescador
Qué tan lejos = How Much Further
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
Latin American Newstand
This includes El Comercio from Quito
as well as other sources
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Ecuador and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Ecuador
Quito
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY ECUADOR in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
What Would Darwin Think: Man vs. Nature in the Galapagos (Streaming)
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Ecuador
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Ecuador
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República del Ecuador (Republic of Ecuador)
Capital city: Quito
National language: Spanish
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Latin American Spanish
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
The Boy On the Back of the Turtle: Seeking God, Quince Marmalade, and the Fabled Albatross on Darwin's Islands by Paul Quarrington
Fire From the Andes: Short Fiction by Women from Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru by Susan E. Benner
Floreana: a Woman's Pilgrimage to the Galapagos by Margret Wittmer
The Galapagos Affair by J.E. Treherne
The Latin Road Home: Savoring the Foods of Ecuador, Spain, Cuba, Mexico, and Peru by Jose Garces
Living Poor: a Peace Corps Chronicle by Moritz Thomsen
The Queen of Water by Laura Resau
Las Sombras de La Casa Mitre by Ney Yépez Cortés
The Boy On the Back of the Turtle: Seeking God, Quince Marmalade, and the Fabled Albatross on Darwin's Islands by Paul Quarrington
Fire From the Andes: Short Fiction by Women from Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru by Susan E. Benner
Floreana: a Woman's Pilgrimage to the Galapagos by Margret Wittmer
The Galapagos Affair by J.E. Treherne
The Latin Road Home: Savoring the Foods of Ecuador, Spain, Cuba, Mexico, and Peru by Jose Garces
Living Poor: a Peace Corps Chronicle by Moritz Thomsen
The Queen of Water by Laura Resau
Las Sombras de La Casa Mitre by Ney Yépez Cortés
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
The Rough Guide to Ecuador
Quito (Moon Spotlight)
GalaÌpagos Islands (Moon)
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Ecuador, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Ecuador, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Pescador
Qué tan lejos = How Much Further
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Ecuador
Databases with newspapers from Ecuador
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
Latin American Newstand
This includes El Comercio from Quito
as well as other sources
A Librarian