Ecosystem Science & Policy subjectId: 12444

Hello and welcome to the Ecosystem Science & Policy Research Guide! You will find information on how to get started with your research along with available resources at the University of Miami Libraries and beyond. Click on the different tabs at the top of the guide to learn more on each topic. This guide is not exhaustive and if you find resources you think would be a great addition or if you have questions please email me.

Ready to start searching?
uSearch allows you to discover materials from all University of Miami Libraries.

Need help with uSearch?
The uSearch Guide will help you with searching.

Not finding what you want in uSearch?
Through an interlibrary loan you can borrow items outside of UM.

Is the library open?
Different library hours are posted on this page.

Off Campus?
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) will let you connect to resources while away.

Are you an undergraduate?
Undergraduate Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.

Are you a graduate?
Graduate Essentials has recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.

Are you faculty?
Faculty Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for faculty, many of which are online.

Email: askalibrarian@miami.edu
Text: 305-809-7770

There are different article types found in the below databases and eJournal collections.
 

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
  A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
• Biological Abstracts (1980 - 2002)
  Biological Abstracts indexes biology journals not traditionally covered by standard anthropology indexes. Topics of interest include: physical anthropology, ethnobiology,evolution, paleobiology and paleozoology.
• BIOSIS Previews
  Provides comprehensive indexing of biological and biomedical research literature. Includes coverage of national and international meetings, reviews, technical letters and notes, meeting reports, software, and books (1969 to present).
• COS Conference Papers Index
  Conference Papers Index indexes papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings worldwide. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.
• ESI: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements
  Indexes and abstracts environmental impact statements the Federal Government releases each year; includes subfile Environmental Routenet.
• ProQuest Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
• SCOPUS
  Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
• Web of Science
  Provides current and retrospective indexing from science, social science, arts and humanities research journals published worldwide. Cited reference searching allows navigation forward and backward through the literature to trace a path of research.For instruction for use, see Database Tutorials box, directly to the right.
• World Resources Institute
  Open access database of statistical, graphic, and analytical data regarding environmental, social, and economic trends shaping our world.
• Full List of Ecosystem Science & Policy Databases
  

SciELO   | 
E-print a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of the Global South and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature. 

• Request via Inter-Library Loan (ILL)
• Request Purchase

Bullock, A., Jennings, C., & Timbrell, N. (2019). Peer review. In A dictionary of publishing. Oxford University Press.

Libraries, U. of T. (2015, November 5). What counts as a scholarly source? https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/what-counts-scholarly-source

Preprints. (n.d.). PLOS. Retrieved August 9, 2022, from https://plos.org/open-science/preprints/

• eBook Central Proquest
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
• Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
  Provides access to over 20,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the EBSCOhost Full Text reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own EBSCOhost account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
• Research Methods (Sage)
  Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
• Wiley Online Library
  A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to Wiley journals, books, and reference works.

• Request via Inter-Library Loan (ILL)
• Request Purchase

Dissertation: A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).​

Thesis: A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

• Request via Inter-Library Loan (ILL)
• Request Purchase

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about

• Department of Energy
  Link to Environment tab for information about DOE Environmental Policy & Guidance, nuclear waste, climate change and additional environmental issues.
• NOAA Sea Grant
  Provides information and support for environmental stewardship, long-term economic development and responsible use of America’s coastal, ocean and Great Lakes resources.
• U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
  The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
• U. S. Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
  Information on endangered plant and animal species and conservation efforts.
• United States Department of Agriculture
  News and reports provided by the USDA.
• Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)