Economics subjectId: 687786

Welcome to the Research Guide for the subject discipline of Economics. This guide provides you with recommended library resources for your research.  If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.

• Economics A-Z terms by The Economist

• ABI/INFORM Collection
• Business Insights: Global
• Business Source Premier

• APA, Chicago, and MLA Citation: KnightCite

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.  Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password.  This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE:  If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall.  All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall.

• ABI/INFORM Collection
  ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The collection article is provided for many titles. The Collection edition brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information).
• Gale Academic OneFile
  Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Gale OneFile: Business
  Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications, which are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
• Business Source Premier
  Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
• Economist Intelligence Unit
  The Economist Intelligence Unit is a leading provider of country intelligence. EIU produces global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.
• IDEAS Internet Documents in Economics Access Service
  Searchable database of working papers (works in a preliminary stage or not yet published in a journal or volume) published worldwide in economics. As of early 1999, this service had collected information about 56,600 working papers, 9,500 articles and 300 software components from 1012 series. About one half of the papers can be browsed within the Journal of Economic Literature classification codes, the full-text of some 13,200 can be downloaded. Papers in the series link back to the entire list for that series.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Munich Personal RePEc Archive
• PAIS International
• Political Risk Yearbook
  Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary. In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version. Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• RePEc
  RePEc (research papers in economics) is a collaboration of worldwide volunteers seeking to disseminate economic research.
• ScienceDirect
  Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
• Springer LINK
  Digital library of 495 full-text engineering, economics, and science journals, and selected book series. Note to Users: SpringerLink has a new feature that allows users the ability to create alerts. Enter keywords and each time the keyword appears in a Springer publication, an email notification is sent into your email.
• The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)
  Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 2000.
• The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest, Eastern edition (1984-Current)
  American economic and business topics, and financial news and issues. 

• EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
  In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
• Europa World
  Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
• IMF's World Economic Outlook Reports
  Build a customized country report with data from several IMF publications. This includes publications such as Balance of Trade Statistics, International Monetary Database, Financial Access Survey, International Financial Statistics, and more. Date range coverage is varies from 5 to 20 years.
• IMF's International Financial Statistics Yearbook
  Gain access to IMF's International Financial Statistics Yearbook. Statistical data can be downloaded as a MS Word, Excel or PDF file.
• OECD iLibrary - Country Statistical Profiles
  This subscription database contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF.
• Political Risk Yearbook
  Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
• Stateman's Yearbook (SYBWorld)
  Provides up-to-date information on global affairs with comprehensive coverage of government, politics, geography, history, economics, and social policy for 192 nations.The country profiles cover important areas: Political parties and leaders; Population; Economics; Climate; Natural resources; Military capabilities; Education and Legal Systems; Cutural and Communications; Health and Environment; International Affairs. The service also provides expanded coverage of world events, biographies of key world figures, and special profiles of regions, states, and cities. The In World Today feature provides insight into current world events, and all accessible through an interactive map-based interface.

• Miami Dade Economic Data

• Broward County Area (SE Florida)
• Bureau of Economic and Business Research
• Charlotte County Area (SW Florida)
• Clay County Area (NE Florida)
• Collier County Area (SW Florida)
• Florida's Economy at a Glance
• Florida's Office of Economic & Demographic Research
• Hernando County Area (West Central Florida)
• Miami Dade County Area (SE Florida)
• Orlando Area (Central Florida)
• Pinellas County Economic Development
• Sarasota County Area (SW Florida)
• St. Petersburg/Clearwater Area (West Central Florida)
• Volusia County Area (East Central Florida)

• County Business Patterns (annual)
• Consumer Price Index (CPI)
• Economic Census
• Econonic Indicators via GPO Access
• Federal Reserve Board
• Florida Statistical Abstract (annual)
• Gross Domestic Produce (GDP)
• Statistical Abstract of the United States
• U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

• 100 Years of U.S. Consumer Spending
• Bureau of Economic Analysis National Data - GDP & Personal Income
  A free website that features GDP & personal income, fixed assets, GDP by industry plus more.
• Economist Intelligence Unit Data Tool
• Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
• Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (part I)
  This site offers statistics on population, prices, income, social statistics, and other economic factors from colonial times to 1970.
• Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (part II)
  This site offers statistics on energy, enterprise, manufacturing, and other economic factors from colonial times to 1970.
• Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
  ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data. The University of Miami is one of over 500 member colleges and universities, and UM faculty and students can download data and documentation for their own research and instructional purposes.
• IMF e-Library Datasets
• IMF's International Financial Statistics Yearbook
  Gain access to IMF's International Financial Statistics Yearbook. Statistical data can be downloaded as a MS Word, Excel or PDF file.
• International Macroeconomic Data Set
  This free site includes annual growth rates, percent changes and projections from 1969 to present.
• OECD Economic Outlook
  This subscription database contains historical statistics, unemployment, GDP and population tables. Bi-annual data is available from 1997-present.  Only available in PDF format.
• OECD iLibrary - Economic Surveys
  This site offers comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, key economic challenges, and recommendations for the OECD countries. Information available 18 times yearly, from 1961 to present. Only available in PDF format.
• OECD iLibrary - All statistics
  This subscription database contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF. 
• PENN World Table
  The Penn World Table is a set of national-accounts data developed and maintained by scholars at the University of Pennsylvania to measure real GDP (per capita) from the corresponding relative price levels across countries and over time.
• Political Risk Yearbook
  Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
• Social Explorer
  Provides access to current and historical census data.  Coverage includes the U.S., Canada, Europe, and some global data.
• Statistical Abstract of Israel
• Statistical Abstract of the United States
  Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
• United Nations Data
  This database offers information on education, energy, finance, industry, trade, and tourism. Information available from 1992 to present.
• World Bank's Databank
• World Bank's World Development Indicators

• Academy of Economics & Finance
• American Economic Association
• Amerrican Economic Association Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession
• American Real Estate & Urban Economics Association
• Association for Social Economics
• Association for University Business & Economics Research
• Association of Environmental & Resource Economists
• Financial Economics Network
• International Research Center for Energy & Economic Development
• National Association for Business Economics
• National Association for Economic Educators
• National Association of Forensic Economics
• National Economic Association
• Peterson Institute for International Economics
• Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics
• Society of Government Economists