University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Downtown Doral

Citation Help

Do you have to cite your sources? Write a bibliography or works cited page? Look no further than the Purdue OWL for help. Kept up to date with MLA and APA citation formats, the OWL is a great resource to help you build your bibliography.
The Purdue OWL

What is Peer Review?

How Stuff Works: Peer Review
Scrutinizing Science: Peer Review

USearch

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive
    The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
  • Film & Television Literature Index
    Bibliographic database that provides indexing for more than 600 publications. Film & Television Literature Index is an index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
  • Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
    Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Gale In Context: U.S. History
    Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Gale In Context: World History
    Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
    Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.

Statistics

Statista
Statistica is a quarterly journal founded by Paolo Fortunati. The publication accepts original papers dealing with methodological and technical aspects of statistics and statistical analyses in the various scientific fields. It also publishes book reviews and announcements. Full texts are available since 2002.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Online includes the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, the 10th ed. of the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Britannica's Internet Guide, and The World Guide with maps, country information, and news.

Google Scholar

Find items in Google Scholar