Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690189
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Czech Republic
Prague
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY CZECH REPUBLIC in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
ÄŒeský Sen = Czech Dream
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: ÄŒeská Republika (Czech Republic)
Capital city: Prague
National language: Czech
Major religion: Majority of people are nonreligious
Log on here!
Rick Steves' Prague & the Czech Republic
Fodor's Prague & the best of the Czech Republic
CultureShock! Czech Republic (Online)
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Alois Nebel
Anthropoid
Černy̓ Petr = Black Sheep
Dark Blue World = Tmavomodrý svÄ›t
Faust
HorÌŒiÌ, MaÌ Panenko = The Firemen's Ball
HoÅ™ící keÅ™ = Burning Bush
Kolya
LaÌsky jedneÌ plavovlaÌsky = Loves of a blonde
Lidice
OstrÌŒe SledovaneÌ Vlaky = Closely Watched Trains
or Streaming
Protektor = Protector (Streaming)
Something Like Happiness
or Streaming
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
This includes the Prague Post from Prague
as well as other sources
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About the Czech Republic and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Czech Republic
Prague
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY CZECH REPUBLIC in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
ÄŒeský Sen = Czech Dream
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Czech Republic
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in the Czech Republic.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: ÄŒeská Republika (Czech Republic)
Capital city: Prague
National language: Czech
Major religion: Majority of people are nonreligious
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Czech
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
All This Belongs to Me by Petra Hulova
Bringing Up Girls in Bohemia by Michael Viewegh
The Castle = Der Schloss by Franz Kafka
The Good Soldier: Schweik by Jaroslav Hašek
All This Belongs to Me by Petra Hulova
Bringing Up Girls in Bohemia by Michael Viewegh
The Castle = Der Schloss by Franz Kafka
The Good Soldier: Schweik by Jaroslav Hašek
I Served the King of England by Bohumil Hrabal
The Little Town Where Time Stood Still by Bohumil Hrabal (Online)
Love and Garbage by Ivan Klima
The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
My Crazy Century by Ivan Klima (Online)
R.U.R. by Karel Capek
The Seven Churches by Milos Urban (Online)
The Trial = Der Prozess by Franz Kafka
English German
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
War With the Newts by Karel Capek
The Little Town Where Time Stood Still by Bohumil Hrabal (Online)
Love and Garbage by Ivan Klima
The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
My Crazy Century by Ivan Klima (Online)
R.U.R. by Karel Capek
The Seven Churches by Milos Urban (Online)
The Trial = Der Prozess by Franz Kafka
English German
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
War With the Newts by Karel Capek
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Rick Steves' Prague & the Czech Republic
Fodor's Prague & the best of the Czech Republic
CultureShock! Czech Republic (Online)
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in the Czech Republic, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in the Czech Republic, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Alois Nebel
Anthropoid
Černy̓ Petr = Black Sheep
Dark Blue World = Tmavomodrý svÄ›t
Faust
HorÌŒiÌ, MaÌ Panenko = The Firemen's Ball
HoÅ™ící keÅ™ = Burning Bush
Kolya
LaÌsky jedneÌ plavovlaÌsky = Loves of a blonde
Lidice
OstrÌŒe SledovaneÌ Vlaky = Closely Watched Trains
or Streaming
Protektor = Protector (Streaming)
Something Like Happiness
or Streaming
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from the Czech Republic
Databases with newspapers from the Czech Republic
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
This includes the Prague Post from Prague
as well as other sources
A Librarian