Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690557
visibleTabCount: 5
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, archival materials, and digital sources on the medieval period; especially as it relates to the various Crusade periods.
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Distinctive Collections
Atiya, Aziz Suryal. The Crusade: Historiography and Bibliography. Indiana University Press, 1962.
Boase, T. S. R. Kingdoms and Strongholds of the Crusaders. Thames and Hudson, 1971.
Bréhier, Louis. Histoire Anonyme De La Première Croisade. H. Champion, 1924.
Fuller, Thomas, et al. The Historie of the Holy Warre. Fourth ed., 1651.
Scott, Walter, and James Ballantyne Co., printer. Tales of the Crusaders. A. Constable and Co.,1825.
Tasso, Torquato, et al. Jérusalem délivrée. Musier Fils, 1774.
Boase, T. S. R. Kingdoms and Strongholds of the Crusaders. Thames and Hudson, 1971.
Bréhier, Louis. Histoire Anonyme De La Première Croisade. H. Champion, 1924.
Fuller, Thomas, et al. The Historie of the Holy Warre. Fourth ed., 1651.
Scott, Walter, and James Ballantyne Co., printer. Tales of the Crusaders. A. Constable and Co.,1825.
Tasso, Torquato, et al. Jérusalem délivrée. Musier Fils, 1774.
Select Databases
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
International Medieval Bibliography
Includes International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
A catalog of over 57,000 free eBooks that can be read online or downloaded in both EPUB and Kindle formats.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
International Medieval Bibliography
Includes International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
A catalog of over 57,000 free eBooks that can be read online or downloaded in both EPUB and Kindle formats.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Subject Specialist
USearch
Select Ebooks
Horswell, Mike, and Awan, Akil N. The Crusades in the Modern World. Vol. 2, Routledge, 2019.
Jotischky, Andrew. Crusading and the Crusader States. First ed., Routledge, 2014.
MacEvitt, Christopher Hatch. The Crusades and the Christian World of the East: Rough Tolerance. University of Pennsylvania Press, 2008.
Mallett, Alexander. Medieval Muslim Historians and the Franks in the Levant. Brill, 2014.
Tyerman, Christopher. The Debate on the Crusades. Manchester University Press, 2011.
Yeager, Suzanne M., and Nicholas Paul. Remembering the Crusades Myth, Image, and Identity. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012.
Jotischky, Andrew. Crusading and the Crusader States. First ed., Routledge, 2014.
MacEvitt, Christopher Hatch. The Crusades and the Christian World of the East: Rough Tolerance. University of Pennsylvania Press, 2008.
Mallett, Alexander. Medieval Muslim Historians and the Franks in the Levant. Brill, 2014.
Tyerman, Christopher. The Debate on the Crusades. Manchester University Press, 2011.
Yeager, Suzanne M., and Nicholas Paul. Remembering the Crusades Myth, Image, and Identity. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012.
Select Print Books
Primary Sources and Digital Archives
- Dartmouth Sources for Crusaders: Includes principal narrative sources for the crusades (and other genres such as charters).
Independent Crusaders Project Website: The Independent Crusaders Project uses digital tools to shed light on individuals who assumed the identity of crusaders and traveled to the Latin Kingdom of Jerusalem outside of the major, canonical crusades. - Database of Crusaders to the Holy Land 1095-1149: Includes information on the identities, social status, titles, geographical origins, finance, family relationships, and affiliations of crusade leaders.
- The Regesta Regni Hierosolymitani 1098-1291: Provides information on the charters, legal and formal documents in Jerusalem, Cyprus, Cilician Armenia, the principality of Antioch and the counties of Edessa and Tripoli.
- Making of Charlemagne's Europe: A legal database that includes information on early medieval legal documents.
- CIVES Database: Italian database that provides information on Venetian citizenship up to the 1500s.
- The Electronic Sawyer: Database on Anglo-Saxon charters based on the Royal Historical Society publications in 1968.
- DEEDS: Documents of Early England Data Set: Provides information on the charters, legal and formal documents relating to the British Isles, France, and German-speaking Europe.
- Florentine Renaissance Resources 1282-1532: Includes information on the history of the Florentine Republic.
- Aquae Urbis Romae 735 BC to Present: Provides an interactive cartographic timeline of the hydraulic systems of Rome, Italy.
- Bearers of the Cross: Material Religion in the Crusading World 1095-1300: Database with images of coins, manuscripts, seals, and documents from the Museum of the Order of St John, London.
- Thomas of Froidmont on Margaret of Beverley: Partial manuscript detailing the adventures of Margaret published in Latin and English.
A Librarian