Company subjectId: 687778

Companies are classified as either public, private or a subsidiary of a larger company.

Public companies sell shares of the company (stocks) to the general public, and are required to submit financial information and annual reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.  Searching for data on a public company is easier that seeking data on a private or subsidiary company.

Private companies do not sell publicly traded stocks and as a result, are not required to release information to the government or the general public  Searching for data on a private company is challenging and is typically limited to directory information and/or news articles.

Subsidiaries of public companies can be difficult to research because the parent company is not required to report on each of them.  Subsidiary information may or may not be found in the parent company's reports and/or within news articles.

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.  Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password.  This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE:  If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall.  All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall.

• Business Insights: Global
• Business Source Premier
• CSIMarket.com (free)
• Hoover's Company Profiles
• Nexis Uni
• Mergent Online
• Mergent Archives
• Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

• Mergent Online
• Morningstar Investing Center

• Hoover's Company Profiles
• Nexis Uni
• Mergent Archives
• Value Line Research Center

• Morningstar Investing Center
• Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
• Mergent Online

• Morningstar Investing Center
• Yahoo Finance
• Mergent Online

• ABI/INFORM Collection
• Business Source Premier
• Nexis Uni
• New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
• Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
• Wall Street Journal via ProQuest, Eastern edition (1984-Current)

• Business Insights: Global
• Nexis Uni

• Nexis Uni

• Morningstar Investing Center
• Mergent Archives
• Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

• Business Insights Global
• Business Source Premier

• Business Insights: Global
• MarketResearch.com Academic