Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690182
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Chile
Santiago
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY CHILE in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República de Chile (Republic of Chile)
Capital city: Santiago
National language: Spanish
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Log on here!
Chile & Easter Island (Lonely Planet)
Escultura PuÌblica: Del Monumento Conmemorativo a la Escultura Urbana, Santiago, 1792-2004
Patagonia Handbook
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Coronación = Coronation
Gloria
Julio Comienza en Julio = Julio Starts in July
Machuca
or Streaming
La Nana = The Maid
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Chile and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Chile
Santiago
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY CHILE in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Chile
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Chile.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República de Chile (Republic of Chile)
Capital city: Santiago
National language: Spanish
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Latin American Spanish
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
2666 by Roberto Bolaño
English Spanish
La Casa de los Espíritus = The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
English Spanish
La Desesperanza = Curfew by José Donoso
English Spanish
Detectives Salvajes = The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolaño
A Nation of Enemies: Chile under Pinochet by Pamela Constable
Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda
2666 by Roberto Bolaño
English Spanish
La Casa de los Espíritus = The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
English Spanish
La Desesperanza = Curfew by José Donoso
English Spanish
Detectives Salvajes = The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolaño
A Nation of Enemies: Chile under Pinochet by Pamela Constable
Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Chile & Easter Island (Lonely Planet)
Escultura PuÌblica: Del Monumento Conmemorativo a la Escultura Urbana, Santiago, 1792-2004
Patagonia Handbook
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Chile, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Chile, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Coronación = Coronation
Gloria
Julio Comienza en Julio = Julio Starts in July
Machuca
or Streaming
La Nana = The Maid
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Chile
Lexis Nexis Academic
Latin American Newstand
This includes El Mercurio from Santiago
as well as other sources
Databases with newspapers from Chile
Lexis Nexis Academic
Latin American Newstand
This includes El Mercurio from Santiago
as well as other sources
A Librarian