Non-Book Materials subjectId: 690214

There are many types of materials available in the UM Libraries than just the traditional books and journals. This guide is designed to show you what we have and how to find them.

The University of Miami Libraries has a growing collection of movies and documentaries!  To suggest a purchase or to learn more, please contact Terri Robar, trobar@miami.edu.

 

We have a large selection of movies available in our DVD collection. The categories we use are Drama, Comedy, Animation, Horror, Science Fiction/Fantasy, and Foreign /Non-English. Drama is actually a catch-all that includes everything from Romance to Westerns. We also have a selection of TV shows!

To see what we have, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type FEATURE FILMS in the blank box and hit Enter.

Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose the DVD category that you prefer.

Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.

The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about many different subjects and places. These are also in our DVD collection.

To see a list of films on your topic of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY and one or two keywords in the blank box and hit Enter.

Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.

Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
 

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
  Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Feature Films for Education
  Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

• Alexander Street Video
  Alexander Street Video allows users to cross-search all of the videos published by Alexander Street Press. There are currently over 2600 videos available in a wide variety of fields ranging from world history to cooking.
• Ambrose Video
  Ambrose Video provides streaming educational content in a variety of disciplines. The University of Miami currently has access to over 30 videos in the BBC Shakespeare Play collection and the entire Long Search series, a discussion of the basic beliefs of the world's major religions.
• Dance Online: Dance in Video
  Includes over 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st Century dance, including performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
• Ethnographic Video Online
  Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
• Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
  Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
• NBC Learn Higher Ed
  A collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images that can be used for research, projects, and in classroom and online teaching.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.