Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690508
Uruk. (Southern Iraq) c 3500 BC
Roman Forum. Fora Romanum.
5th Century BCE
Maya. Palenque, Yucatan
Shimao City Ruins (Neolithic)
Heavenly Jerusalem. LIber Floridus, c. 1090-1120 CE
JSTOR
Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included.
Oxford Art Online
Best place to start searching artists, periods, topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Users are required to authenticate with their CaneID.
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access"Peer Reviewed" articles are written by experts and are reviewed by several other experts in the field before the article is published in the journal in order to ensure the article's quality.
Chronology of Settlements
Indo-European
Neolithic (5000-2000 BCE)
Late Bronze (1600-1200 BCE)
Classical Antiquity Mediterranean region
Neolithic (5000-2000 BCE)
- Sumerian empire (Iraq) 3000 BCE
Late Bronze (1600-1200 BCE)
Classical Antiquity Mediterranean region
- Archaic period (c. 8th to c. 6th centuries BC)
- Etruscans /Italy
- Minoans / Crete
- Classical Greece (5th to 4th centuries BC)
- Hellenistic period (323–146 BC)
- Roman Republic (5th to 1st centuries BC)
- Roman Empire (1st century BC to 5th century AD)
- Late antiquity (4th to 6th centuries AD)
- Early Dynastic Period (3100-2636 BCE)
- Old Kingdom (2686-2181 BCE)
- First Intermediate Period (2181-2040 BCE)
- Middle Kingdom (2130-1649 BCE)
- Second Intermediate Period (1725-1550 BCE)
- Third Intermediate Period (1069-656 BCE)
- Late Period (664-332 BCE)
- Greco-Roman Period (332-30 BCE)
- Xia dynasty (2070 – 1600 BC)
- Shang dynasty (1600 – 1046 BC)
- Zhou dynasty (1046 – 256 BC)
- Spring and Autumn period (722 – 476 BC)
- Warring States period (476 – 221 BC)
- Preclassic or Early Formative Period 2000-1000BCE
- Classic or Middle Formative 950-400 BCE
- Late Preclassic / Late Formative 400-250BCE
Reference
Early Indo-European Settlements
Uruk. (Southern Iraq) c 3500 BC
Classical Antiquity
Roman Forum. Fora Romanum. 5th Century BCE
The Americas
Maya. Palenque, Yucatan524-683 CE
Ritual Sites and Ideal Cities in China & India
Shimao City Ruins (Neolithic)Egyptian Civilization and Funerary Structures
Pyramids. Giza. 2490 BCE
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Article Indexes & Databases
Journals
Heavenly Jerusalem. LIber Floridus, c. 1090-1120 CEPrint Books
Holmes, George. The Oxford Illustrated History of Medieval Europe. Oxford University Press, 1988.
E-Books
Bratchel, M. E. Medieval Lucca and the Evolution of the Renaissance State. Oxford University Press, 2008.
Classen, Albrecht. Urban Space in the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Age. Walter De Gruyter, 2009.
Clark, Peter. European Cities and Towns: 400-2000. Oxford University Press, 2009.
Larkham, et al. Shapers of Urban Form: Explorations in Morphological Agency. Routledge, 2014.
O'Keeffe, Tadhg. Archaeology and the Pan-European Romanesque. Bloomsbury Academic, 2007.
Oldfield, Paul. Urban Panegyric and the Transformation of the Medieval City, 1100-1300. First ed., Oxford University Press, 2019.
Pirenne, et al. Medieval Cities: Their Origins and the Revival of Trade. First Princeton Classics ed., Princeton University Press, 2014.
Scott, Tom. The City-State in Europe, 1000-1600 Hinterland, Territory, Region. Oxford University Press, 2012.
Verhulst, Adriaan E. The Rise of Cities in North-West Europe. Cambridge University Press ; Editions De La Maison Des Sciences De L'Homme, 1999.
Classen, Albrecht. Urban Space in the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Age. Walter De Gruyter, 2009.
Clark, Peter. European Cities and Towns: 400-2000. Oxford University Press, 2009.
Larkham, et al. Shapers of Urban Form: Explorations in Morphological Agency. Routledge, 2014.
O'Keeffe, Tadhg. Archaeology and the Pan-European Romanesque. Bloomsbury Academic, 2007.
Oldfield, Paul. Urban Panegyric and the Transformation of the Medieval City, 1100-1300. First ed., Oxford University Press, 2019.
Pirenne, et al. Medieval Cities: Their Origins and the Revival of Trade. First Princeton Classics ed., Princeton University Press, 2014.
Scott, Tom. The City-State in Europe, 1000-1600 Hinterland, Territory, Region. Oxford University Press, 2012.
Verhulst, Adriaan E. The Rise of Cities in North-West Europe. Cambridge University Press ; Editions De La Maison Des Sciences De L'Homme, 1999.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Print Resources
Borngässer Klein, Barbara, et al. Early Modern Architecture: Renaissance, Baroque, Rococo. Feierabend, 2006.
Cowan, Alexander. Urban Europe, 1500-1700. London; New York: Arnold, 1998.
Hanawalt, Reyerson, Hanawalt, Barbara A., and Reyerson, Kathryn. City and Spectacle in Medieval Europe. Medieval Studies at Minnesota; v. 6. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1994.
Millon, et al. The Renaissance from Brunelleschi to Michelangelo: the Representation of Architecture. Rizzoli, 1994.
Norberg-Schulz, Christian. Baroque Architecture. Electa; Rizzoli, 1986.
Schlimme, Hermann. Practice and Science in Early Modern Italan Building: towards an Epistemic History of Architecture. Electa, 2006.
Tafuri, Manfredo, Sherer, Daniel Tr, and Hays, K. Michael Interpreting the Renaissance: Princes, Cities, Architects. New Haven, CT, Yale UP, in Association with Harvard U Graduate School of Design, 2006.
Vasari, et al. Vasari's Lives of the Artists; Biographies of the Most Eminent Architects, Painters, and Sculptors of Italy. G. Allen and Unwin, 1960.
Zanlungo, Claudia., and Daniela. Tarabra. The Story of Baroque Architecture. English ed., Prestel, 2012.
Zirpolo, Lilian H. Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
Cowan, Alexander. Urban Europe, 1500-1700. London; New York: Arnold, 1998.
Hanawalt, Reyerson, Hanawalt, Barbara A., and Reyerson, Kathryn. City and Spectacle in Medieval Europe. Medieval Studies at Minnesota; v. 6. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1994.
Millon, et al. The Renaissance from Brunelleschi to Michelangelo: the Representation of Architecture. Rizzoli, 1994.
Norberg-Schulz, Christian. Baroque Architecture. Electa; Rizzoli, 1986.
Schlimme, Hermann. Practice and Science in Early Modern Italan Building: towards an Epistemic History of Architecture. Electa, 2006.
Tafuri, Manfredo, Sherer, Daniel Tr, and Hays, K. Michael Interpreting the Renaissance: Princes, Cities, Architects. New Haven, CT, Yale UP, in Association with Harvard U Graduate School of Design, 2006.
Vasari, et al. Vasari's Lives of the Artists; Biographies of the Most Eminent Architects, Painters, and Sculptors of Italy. G. Allen and Unwin, 1960.
Zanlungo, Claudia., and Daniela. Tarabra. The Story of Baroque Architecture. English ed., Prestel, 2012.
Zirpolo, Lilian H. Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
“Beauty awakens the soul to act.”
Dante Alighieri
Article Indexes & Databases
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Bibliography of the History of Art
JSTOR
Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included.
Oxford Art Online
Best place to start searching artists, periods, topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Users are required to authenticate with their CaneID.
E-Books
Benedict, Philip. Cities and Social Change in Early Modern France. Routledge, 1992.
Black, Christopher. Early Modern Italy: A Social History, Taylor & Francis Group, 2001. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Biow, Douglas, and ProQuest. Vasari's Words: the Lives of the Artists as a History of Ideas in the Italian Renaissance. Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Borys, Ann Marie. Vincenzo Scamozzi and the Chorography of Early Modern Architecture. Ashgate Publishing Limited, 2014.
Bowd, Stephen D., and Villa I Tatti. Venice's Most Loyal City Civic Identity in Renaissance Brescia. Harvard University Press, 2010.
Brucker, Gene A. The Civic World of Early Renaissance Florence. Princeton University Press, 1977.
Cast, David. The Ashgate Research Companion to Giorgio Vasari. Ashgate, 2014.
Cheng, Irene, et al. Race and Modern Architecture: a Critical History from the Enlightenment to the Present. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2020.
Cohen, Thomas V., and Riitta Laitinen. Cultural History of Early Modern European Streets. Boston: Brill, 2009. Brill EBook Titles 2009.
Davids, et al. Innovation and Creativity in Late Medieval and Early Modern European Cities. Ashgate, 2014.
Eck, et al. Theatricality in Early Modern Art and Architecture. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Lazrus, Paula Kay. Building the Italian Renaissance: Brunelleschi's Dome and the Florence Cathedral. Reacting Consortium Press, University of North Carolina Press, 2019.
Pearson, Caspar, and Ebrary, Inc. Humanism and the Urban World : Leon Battista Alberti and the Renaissance City. Pennsylvania State University Press, 2011.
Pollio, Vitruvius, et al. Ten Books on Architecture. Digireads.com Publishing, 2012.
Stage, Kelly J. Producing Early Modern London: a Comedy of Urban Space, 1598–1616. University of Nebraska Press, 2018.
Trexler, Richard C. Public Life in Renaissance Florence. Cornell University Press, 1980.
Black, Christopher. Early Modern Italy: A Social History, Taylor & Francis Group, 2001. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Biow, Douglas, and ProQuest. Vasari's Words: the Lives of the Artists as a History of Ideas in the Italian Renaissance. Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Borys, Ann Marie. Vincenzo Scamozzi and the Chorography of Early Modern Architecture. Ashgate Publishing Limited, 2014.
Bowd, Stephen D., and Villa I Tatti. Venice's Most Loyal City Civic Identity in Renaissance Brescia. Harvard University Press, 2010.
Brucker, Gene A. The Civic World of Early Renaissance Florence. Princeton University Press, 1977.
Cast, David. The Ashgate Research Companion to Giorgio Vasari. Ashgate, 2014.
Cheng, Irene, et al. Race and Modern Architecture: a Critical History from the Enlightenment to the Present. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2020.
Cohen, Thomas V., and Riitta Laitinen. Cultural History of Early Modern European Streets. Boston: Brill, 2009. Brill EBook Titles 2009.
Davids, et al. Innovation and Creativity in Late Medieval and Early Modern European Cities. Ashgate, 2014.
Eck, et al. Theatricality in Early Modern Art and Architecture. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Lazrus, Paula Kay. Building the Italian Renaissance: Brunelleschi's Dome and the Florence Cathedral. Reacting Consortium Press, University of North Carolina Press, 2019.
Pearson, Caspar, and Ebrary, Inc. Humanism and the Urban World : Leon Battista Alberti and the Renaissance City. Pennsylvania State University Press, 2011.
Pollio, Vitruvius, et al. Ten Books on Architecture. Digireads.com Publishing, 2012.
Stage, Kelly J. Producing Early Modern London: a Comedy of Urban Space, 1598–1616. University of Nebraska Press, 2018.
Trexler, Richard C. Public Life in Renaissance Florence. Cornell University Press, 1980.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
E-Books
Benjamin, et al. Walter Benjamin and Architecture. Routledge, 2010.
Buder, Stanley. Visionaries and Planners: the Garden City Movement and the Modern Community. Oxford University Press, 1990.
Hardy, Dennis. From Garden Cities to New Towns Campaigning for Town and Country Planning, 1899-1946. E & FN Spon, 1991.
Buder, Stanley. Visionaries and Planners: the Garden City Movement and the Modern Community. Oxford University Press, 1990.
Hardy, Dennis. From Garden Cities to New Towns Campaigning for Town and Country Planning, 1899-1946. E & FN Spon, 1991.
Print Resources
Cohen, et al. Embodiments of Power: Building Baroque Cities in Europe., Berghahn Books, 2008.
Hopkins, Andrew, et al. Baldassare Longhena, 1597-1682. Electa, 2006.
Howard, Ebenezer, and Frederic J. Osborn. Garden Cities of to-Morrow. Faber and Faber, 1965.
Millon, et al. The Triumph of the Baroque: Architecture in Europe, 1600-1750. Rizzoli, 1999.
Rishel, Joseph Francis. American Cities and Towns: Historical Perspectives. Duquesne University Press, 1992.
Zimmerman, Susan, et al. Urban Life in the Renaissance. University of Delaware Press; Associated University Presses, 1989.
Zirpolo, Lilian H. Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
Hopkins, Andrew, et al. Baldassare Longhena, 1597-1682. Electa, 2006.
Howard, Ebenezer, and Frederic J. Osborn. Garden Cities of to-Morrow. Faber and Faber, 1965.
Millon, et al. The Triumph of the Baroque: Architecture in Europe, 1600-1750. Rizzoli, 1999.
Rishel, Joseph Francis. American Cities and Towns: Historical Perspectives. Duquesne University Press, 1992.
Zimmerman, Susan, et al. Urban Life in the Renaissance. University of Delaware Press; Associated University Presses, 1989.
Zirpolo, Lilian H. Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
"In 1889 Chicago had the peculiar qualifications of growth ... It was a city of over 500,000 with the ambition, the daring, the activity of a metropolis of a million...The sound of the hammer engaged upon the erection of new structures was everywhere heard. Great industries were moving in..."
Dreiser, Theodore. Sister Carrie. 1900
1753 Nicholas Scull
Modern City Planning & Archives
Architecture & City Planning Cornell University
Rare and Manuscript Collections
NYC Planning
Since adoption of the country’s first Zoning Resolution in 1916, New York City has played a seminal role in the history and development of planning and zoning. This rich history is captured through decades of planning reports, land use maps and historic photographs documenting a changing urban landscape. Many of these documents serve as a critical resource for the Department, for the City and for the planning profession.
Rare and Manuscript Collections
NYC Planning
Since adoption of the country’s first Zoning Resolution in 1916, New York City has played a seminal role in the history and development of planning and zoning. This rich history is captured through decades of planning reports, land use maps and historic photographs documenting a changing urban landscape. Many of these documents serve as a critical resource for the Department, for the City and for the planning profession.
Electronically Available Readings
Deupi, Victor. “Urban Space as Heritage in Late Colonial Cuba. Classicism and Dissonance on the Plaza de Armas of Havana, 1754–1828.” Colonial Latin American Review 25, no. 4.
Available through Hathi Trust
*Temporarily available through Hathi Trust with Cane ID.
Marsh, Benjamin Clarke, 1877-1952, and George B. (George Burdett) Ford. An Introduction to City Planning: Democracy's Challenge to the American City. New York, 1909.
Moody, Walter Dwight, 1874-1920, Charles Henry Wacker, and Chicago Plan Commission. Wacker's Manual of the Plan of Chicago. 2d ed. [Chicago: Printed by Calumet publishing company], 1916.
Marsh, Benjamin Clarke, 1877-1952, and George B. (George Burdett) Ford. An Introduction to City Planning: Democracy's Challenge to the American City. New York, 1909.
Moody, Walter Dwight, 1874-1920, Charles Henry Wacker, and Chicago Plan Commission. Wacker's Manual of the Plan of Chicago. 2d ed. [Chicago: Printed by Calumet publishing company], 1916.
Lewis, Nelson Peter, 1856-1924, and Harold MacLean Lewis. The Planning of the Modern City: a Review of the Principles Governing City Planning. 2d ed., rev. New York: Wiley, 1923.
Nolen, John, 1869-1937. New Towns for Old: Achievements In Civic Improvement In Some American Small Towns And Neighborhoods. Boston, Mass.: Marshall Jones company, 1927.
*Unwin, Raymond. Town Planning in Practice : An Introduction to the Art of Designing Cities and Suburbs. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1994.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
A Librarian