Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690552
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
McLeod, Virginia. Detail in Contemporary Timber Architecture. Laurence King Publishing, 2015. Link to 2010 ed.
Zahner, William. Architectural Metals: A Guide to Selection, Specification, and Performance. 1st ed., Wiley, 1995.
Zahner, William. Copper, Brass, and Bronze Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication, and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2020.
Zahner, William. Stainless Steel Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2019.
Zahner, William. Steel Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2020
Journals & Serials
Contact Information
About this Guide
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access*peer-reviewed
open access
Resources
Article Indexes & Databases
Meters and Sensors
All metering and measuring devices offered through the EBS course must be returned in the same working condition as when checked out. The student requesting for and ultimately checking out the device(s) will be responsible for the replacement of or the cost to replace any device damaged or lost. Device Sign Out Sheet
Mapping
Corner, James. Recovering Landscape Essays in Contemporary Landscape Architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1999.
Energy and Environment
Banham, Reyner. The Architecture of the Well-Tempered Environment. University of Chicago Press, 1984. (1969 online)
Fernández-Galiano Luis. Fire and Memory: on Architecture and Energy. MIT Press, 2000.
Krautheim, Mareike, et al. City and Wind Climate as an Architectural Instrument. Dom Publishers, 2014. Pag 118-147
Miller, Char. Gifford Pinchot and the Making of Modern Environmentalism (Pioneers of Conservation). First Edition, Island Press, 2001.
Moe, Kiel. Convergence: an Architectural Agenda for Energy. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group., 2013.
Moe, Kiel. Magnificence: On the Appearance of the Baths of Caracalla. Journal of Architectural Education, 71:2, 241-246. 2017
Olgyay, Victor. Design with Climate. Princeton University Press, 1963.
Natural and Constructed Lighting
Brandi, Ulrike, et al. Lightbook: the Practice of Lighting Design. Birkhäuser, 2001. Chapter 2
Flynn, John E., and Samuel M. Mills. Architectural Lighting Graphics. Reinhold Publishing Corporation, 1962.
Harrold, R., and D. Mennie. IESNA Lighting Ready Reference: a Compendium of Materials from the IESNA Lighting Handbook, 9th Edition: Lighting Fundamentals ... Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, 2003.
Russell, Sage. The Architecture of Light: Architectural Lighting Design Concepts and Techniques. A Textbook of Procedures and Practices for the Architect, Interior Designer and Lighting Designer. Conceptnine, 2012. Link to 2008 ed.
*Schittich, Christian. In Detail: Solar Architecture: Strategies, Visions, Concepts. Birkhäuser, 2003
Tanizaki, Junichiro, et al. In Praise of Shadows. Vintage Books, 2001.
Thermal and HVAC
Addington, Michelle. Contingent Behaviours. Architectural Design, Volume 79, issue 3, pp 12-17, 2009.
Heschong, Lisa. Thermal Delight in Architecture. M.I.T. Press, 2002. Link to 1979 ed.
Kennedy, Heather E., and Mark S. Owen. 2009 ASHRAE Handbook: Fundamentals. American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers, 2009.
Lechner, Norbert. Heating, Cooling, Lighting: Sustainable Design Methods for Architects. Third ed., J. Wiley & Sons, 2009.
Moe, Kiel. Insulating Modernism Isolated and Non-Isolated Thermodynamics in Architecture. Birkhäuser Verlag GmbH, 2014.
Moe, Kiel. Thermally Active Surfaces in Architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2010.
Schittich, Christian. In Detail: Solar Architecture: Strategies, Visions, Concepts. Birkhäuser, 2003.
Nfpa 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code. National Fire Protection Association, 2015.
Oosthuizen, P. H. Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow. CRC Press/Taylor & Francis Group, 2014
Power Systems
Grondzik, Walter T., et al. Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings, 11th Edition. John Wiley & Sons, 2009.
Harrold, R., and D. Mennie. IESNA Lighting Ready Reference: a Compendium of Materials from the IESNA Lighting Handbook, 9th Edition: Lighting Fundamentals ... Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, 2003. Out of print
Hughes, S. David. Electrical Systems in Buildings. PWS-Kent Pub. Co., 1988.
New York City Electrical Code 2011: Based on the 2008 National Electric Code. National Fire Protection Agency, 2009
Material and Tectonics
McLeod, Virginia. Detail in Contemporary Landscape Architecture. Laurence King Publishing, 2012. (link to 2008 ed.)
McLeod, Virginia. Detail in Contemporary Residential Architecture: Includes CD-ROM. First, Laurence King, 2007.McLeod, Virginia. Detail in Contemporary Timber Architecture. Laurence King Publishing, 2015. Link to 2010 ed.
Moe, Kiel, and Ryan E. Smith. Building Systems: Design, Technology, and Society. Routledge, 2012. Chapter 1
Moe, Kiel. Integrated Design in Contemporary Architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2008.
Zahner, William. Aluminum Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2019.
Zahner, William. Architectural Metal Surfaces. 1st ed., Wiley, 2004.Zahner, William. Architectural Metals: A Guide to Selection, Specification, and Performance. 1st ed., Wiley, 1995.
Zahner, William. Copper, Brass, and Bronze Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication, and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2020.
Zahner, William. Stainless Steel Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2019.
Zahner, William. Steel Surfaces: A Guide to Alloys, Finishes, Fabrication and Maintenance in Architecture and Art (Architectural Metals Series). 1st ed., Wiley, 2020
Miscellaneous and Other
Bateson, Gregory. Form, Substance, and Difference. ETC: A Revoew pf Gemera; Se,amtocs. 2015. (Available through Ebsco Host--Must be logged in with Cane ID to access)
Marx, Leo, and Merritt Roe Smith. Does Technology Drive History?: The Dilemma of Technological Determinism. MIT Press, 2011.
Pollio, Vitruvius, and M. H. Morgan. The Ten Books on Architecture. Kaveri Books, 2016.
Thompson, D’arcy Wentworth. On Growth and Form. Cambridge University Press, 1968. (1917 online)
A Librarian