University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

AMS 310: Ghosts of American Imperialism

<b>Start here!</b>

<b>Featured Books</b>

<b>NPR's Throughline Podcast</b>

Throughline is a historical podcast hosted by NPR.  Each episode contextualizes current events through an historical lense by using primary resources to explain current circumstances. Use the Throughline as a podcast example for your project.  Use the link below to find and list to episodes.

<b>Citation Style Guides</b>

The OWL at Purdue is an excellent resource for writing and citation information.  Find online guides to specific citation guides below.

<b>UM Writing Center</b>

The Department of Writing studies hosts the Writing Center. The Center offers free, one-on-one assistance with all types of writing concerns.  The Writing Center can help you at any stage of the writing process, from brainstorming to final revisions.  The Writing Center serves all of the University of Miami community, including undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff.

For help with your writing projects, schedule a consultation today.

<b>Creative Studio @ UM Libraries</b>

The Creative Studio provides expert support and consultation in the use of digital audio, video, and graphic design technology, as well as web development and image creation techniques. With the wide variety of creative software available in our studios, our large and small format printing services, and the available equipment loan program, we have everything you need to create fresh and original digital content.

Book a consultation with any of the Creative Studio experts on the website.  Nick Aponte is the Music Production Specialist well-versed in creating podcasts.  Book a consultation with him here!

<b>Your Librarian</b>

<b>NYU Press Keywords for American Cultural Studies</b>

Keywords for American Cultural Studies, Third Edition is a hybrid print-digital publication that includes 150 essays, each focused on a single term.  Find links to the essays on the following keywords her:

<b>Find books using call numbers and subject headings!</b>

Call numbers:
E660-889
(These will all be on the 7th floor of Richter Library!)

Subject terms:
American imperialism
Imperialism
United States -- Foreign relations
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1945-1953
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1897-1901
United States -- Territorial expansion

Art and war
Memory -- Sociological aspects
War and society

(You can add a date to the end of your subject terms.  You can also use the filters in the catalog to limit to a date range.)

<b>Primary Sources</b>

  • Readex AllSearch
    A streamlined platform for searching across Readex collections including America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
  • America's Historical Newspapers
    America's Historical Newspapers is a comprehensive database designed to enable searching and browsing American newspapers published over three centuries. The collection is continually expanding and provides access to digital fascimiles of thousands of titles from all fifty states.
  • New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
    Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.

<b>Secondary Sources</b>

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Gale In Context: U.S. History
    Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • America: History and Life
    America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.