Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690591
visibleTabCount: 5
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, archival materials, and digital sources on the colonial period in African history from about 1874 to the 1960s.
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Databases
Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
WorldCat
Searches the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450
Traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, including Europe's overseas expansion into the Americas, Asia, Africa, and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
JSTOR
Provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
WorldCat
Searches the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos, and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450
Traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, including Europe's overseas expansion into the Americas, Asia, Africa, and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Finding Databases
Select Print Books
Smulewicz-Zucker, G., & Schields, C. (2017). The Political Thought of African Independence: An anthology of sources. Indianapolis: Hackett Publishing Company.
Poe, D. (2003). Kwame Nkrumah's Contribution to Pan-Africanism: An Afrocentric Analysis (African Studies (Routledge (Firm)). New York: Routledge.
Botchway, D., & Kwarteng, K. (2018). Africa and the First World War: Remembrance, Memories, and Representations After 100 Years. Newcastle upon Tyne, UK: Cambridge Scholars Publishing.
Akpan, N. (1967). Epitaph to Indirect Rule. (First ed.). London: Cass.
Förster, S., Mommsen, W., Robinson, R., & German Historical Institute in London. (1988). Bismarck, Europe, and Africa: The Berlin Africa Conference 1884-1885 and the Onset of Partition. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
Thiam, C. (2014). Return to the Kingdom of Childhood: Re-envisioning the Legacy and Philosophical Relevance of Negritude. Columbus: The Ohio State University Press.
Daughton, J. (2006). An Empire Divided: Religion, Republicanism, and the Making of French colonialism, 1880-1914. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
Poe, D. (2003). Kwame Nkrumah's Contribution to Pan-Africanism: An Afrocentric Analysis (African Studies (Routledge (Firm)). New York: Routledge.
Botchway, D., & Kwarteng, K. (2018). Africa and the First World War: Remembrance, Memories, and Representations After 100 Years. Newcastle upon Tyne, UK: Cambridge Scholars Publishing.
Akpan, N. (1967). Epitaph to Indirect Rule. (First ed.). London: Cass.
Förster, S., Mommsen, W., Robinson, R., & German Historical Institute in London. (1988). Bismarck, Europe, and Africa: The Berlin Africa Conference 1884-1885 and the Onset of Partition. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
Thiam, C. (2014). Return to the Kingdom of Childhood: Re-envisioning the Legacy and Philosophical Relevance of Negritude. Columbus: The Ohio State University Press.
Daughton, J. (2006). An Empire Divided: Religion, Republicanism, and the Making of French colonialism, 1880-1914. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press.
Select Print Books
uSearch
uSearch
Select Ebooks
Lange, M. (2009). Lineages of Despotism and Development: British Colonialism and State Power. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Rijpma, Sjoerd. David Livingstone and the Myth of African Poverty and Disease. BRILL, 2015.
Dobler, G., & ProQuest. (2014). Traders and Trade in Colonial Ovamboland, 1925-1990: Elite Formation and the Politics of Consumption Under Indirect Rule and Apartheid (Basel Namibia studies series; 8). Basel, Switzerland: Basler Afrika Bibliographien.
Táíwò, O. (2010). How Colonialism Preempted Modernity in Africa. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.
Rijpma, Sjoerd. David Livingstone and the Myth of African Poverty and Disease. BRILL, 2015.
Dobler, G., & ProQuest. (2014). Traders and Trade in Colonial Ovamboland, 1925-1990: Elite Formation and the Politics of Consumption Under Indirect Rule and Apartheid (Basel Namibia studies series; 8). Basel, Switzerland: Basler Afrika Bibliographien.
Táíwò, O. (2010). How Colonialism Preempted Modernity in Africa. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.
Select Ebooks
uSearch
uSearch Tutorial
UM Special Collections
Bill of Brigantine "Reynard," Captain Peter Dordin, Master from Africa, 1763.
Scott, A., Gray, J., Orr, N., Howland, A., Scott, H. Roy, & Protestant Episcopal Society for the Promotion of Evangelical Knowledge, publisher. Day Dawn in Africa; Or, Progress of the Prot. Epis. Mission at Cape Palmas, West Africa. New York: Protestant Episcopal Society for the Promotion of Evangelical Knowledge.1858.
Park, Mungo, and John Whishaw. The Journal of a Mission to the Interior of Africa, in the Year 1805. Second edition, revised and corr. / with additions. ed., 1815.
Scott, A., Gray, J., Orr, N., Howland, A., Scott, H. Roy, & Protestant Episcopal Society for the Promotion of Evangelical Knowledge, publisher. Day Dawn in Africa; Or, Progress of the Prot. Epis. Mission at Cape Palmas, West Africa. New York: Protestant Episcopal Society for the Promotion of Evangelical Knowledge.1858.
Park, Mungo, and John Whishaw. The Journal of a Mission to the Interior of Africa, in the Year 1805. Second edition, revised and corr. / with additions. ed., 1815.
Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)
Benítez, J. (1964). Africa; Biografía del Colonialismo. La Habana: Ediciones Revolución.
Tablada Pérez, C., Smith, R., & Houtart, F. (2007). Africa Codiciada : El Desafío Pendiente. La Habana: Editorial de Ciencias.
Benemelis, J. (1988). Castro, Subversión y Terrorismo en Africa. Madrid: San Martín.
Frankel, D. (1978). Upsurge in Africa: Cuba, the U.S. and the New Rise of the African Liberation Struggle. New York, N.Y.: Pathfinder Press.
Tablada Pérez, C., Smith, R., & Houtart, F. (2007). Africa Codiciada : El Desafío Pendiente. La Habana: Editorial de Ciencias.
Benemelis, J. (1988). Castro, Subversión y Terrorismo en Africa. Madrid: San Martín.
Frankel, D. (1978). Upsurge in Africa: Cuba, the U.S. and the New Rise of the African Liberation Struggle. New York, N.Y.: Pathfinder Press.
Primary Sources and Digital Archives
Africana Collection by the Library of Congress: Includes primary documents, facsimiles, and secondary sources in a variety of languages and formats that describe African peoples’ encounters with others.
Islamic Manuscripts from Mali: Features 32 manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both in Timbuktu, Mali.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: Digital memorial documenting the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.
Internet African History Sourcebook: Includes primary texts derived from three major online sourcebooks dealing with the various regions of Africa, the impact of Islam and Christianity, as well as, the history of slavery in the region.
Stanford Library Historical Photographs: Includes photographs from pre-colonial Africa to the present.
Colonial Film Database: Features moving images of the British Empire with over 6000 films.
Northwestern University Library: Includes photographs, maps, posters, videos, books in African languages, archival materials, and manuscripts, as well as art objects, ephemeral materials, and other artifacts.
16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: Features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century.
African History Digital Portal: Includes digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century.
Endangered Archives Programme: Africa: Thousands of digital documents on a variety of topics relating to African and African colonial history.
Islamic Manuscripts from Mali: Features 32 manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both in Timbuktu, Mali.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: Digital memorial documenting the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.
Internet African History Sourcebook: Includes primary texts derived from three major online sourcebooks dealing with the various regions of Africa, the impact of Islam and Christianity, as well as, the history of slavery in the region.
Stanford Library Historical Photographs: Includes photographs from pre-colonial Africa to the present.
Colonial Film Database: Features moving images of the British Empire with over 6000 films.
Northwestern University Library: Includes photographs, maps, posters, videos, books in African languages, archival materials, and manuscripts, as well as art objects, ephemeral materials, and other artifacts.
16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: Features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century.
African History Digital Portal: Includes digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century.
Endangered Archives Programme: Africa: Thousands of digital documents on a variety of topics relating to African and African colonial history.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian